# Governor's Schools: What They Are and How to Find Your State's

*September 26, 2026 — by Extracurricular Hub*

Governor's Schools are state-run programs for strong high school students, most of them residential and many of them free. Here is what each state's official page says about who can apply, what it costs and when to apply, from Pennsylvania and Tennessee to Mississippi and North Dakota.

"Governor's School" sounds like one national program, but it isn't. Each state that has one runs its own, under its own rules, and the name covers several different things: a four-week summer program on a college campus, a one-week institute, a two-year residential high school, even a grant program that designates university summer schools. What most have in common is that the state backs them, they're aimed at strong high school students, and they are free or heavily funded for residents.

This guide covers the Governor's Schools in our catalog. Everything below comes from each program's official page, checked on September 26, 2026. When a page didn't state something, such as a cost or a 2027 date, we say so rather than guess. You can also browse every listing on our [Governor's School page](/extracurriculars/governors-school).

### What Governor's Schools Have in Common

- **They're for residents.** Almost every program limits applicants to students who live in the state or attend school there.
- **They target the summer before junior or senior year.** Most take rising juniors, rising seniors or both. A few, like Vermont's and Kentucky's entrepreneurship program, start with 9th graders.
- **The state pays much or all of the cost.** Pennsylvania, Mississippi, New Jersey, Arkansas, West Virginia, Kentucky and North Dakota say tuition or program costs are covered. Louisiana, Tennessee's science and engineering program and Vermont use scholarships or sliding scales instead.
- **Grades usually aren't the point.** North Carolina's program involves no credit, tests or grades, and Pennsylvania's has no grades. Arkansas's program and West Virginia's Governor's Honors Academy are non-credit.
- **Many run through your school.** North Carolina, Georgia, Delaware and New Jersey's engineering program take students nominated by their schools, and West Virginia's Governor's Honors Academy runs through schools and counties. Others, like Pennsylvania and Tennessee, take applications directly.

### Governor's Schools by State

| State and program | Who can apply | Format and cost | Dates posted |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Alabama: Alabama Governor's School | 10th and 11th graders at Alabama high schools or homeschooled in Alabama; ACT composite of 25 or higher, or comparable SAT or PSAT | 13 days, residential, at Samford University; cost not stated | Home page says nominations open October 1 |
| Arkansas: Arkansas Governor's School | Upcoming seniors who are Arkansas residents, selected in one of nine fields | Four weeks, residential; state funds cover tuition, room, board and materials | 2027 dates not posted |
| Delaware: Governor's School for Excellence | Delaware students between sophomore and junior year, nominated by their schools | One week, residential, at the University of Delaware; cost not stated | July 11-16, 2027 |
| Georgia: Governor's Honors Program | Sophomores and juniors nominated by their school district or school | Residential, mid-June to mid-July; meals and rooms provided, but travel and supplies are yours | Nominees get the application November 13, 2026; due January 8, 2027 |
| Kentucky: Governor's Scholars Program | Students who apply and compete statewide | Residential; free for those selected | Not posted |
| Kentucky: Governor's School for Entrepreneurs | Kentucky 9th, 10th and 11th graders | Three weeks at the University of Kentucky; free | Applications October 2, 2026 to February 1, 2027; program June 20 to July 11, 2027 |
| Louisiana: Governor's Program for Gifted Children | Students identified as gifted; out-of-state students can apply | Seven weeks, residential, at McNeese State; 2026 cost up to $3,000 for residents on a sliding scale | 2027 applications not yet open |
| Mississippi: Mississippi Governor's School | Mississippi residents in 10th or 11th grade who haven't attended before | Two weeks at Mississippi University for Women; tuition, room, meals and activities covered | Apply by November 1, 2026; program June 6-19, 2027 |
| New Jersey: Sciences (Drew) and Engineering & Technology (Rutgers) | New Jersey residents who have completed junior year; the engineering program takes school nominees | Residential, tuition-free | 2027 dates not posted |
| North Carolina: North Carolina Governor's School | Students nominated by their public school unit or non-public school | Four weeks, residential, on two campuses; cost not stated | June 20 to July 17, 2027 |
| North Dakota: North Dakota Governor's School | North Dakota sophomores and juniors | June at the University of North Dakota; costs covered by a state grant, housing and meals included | Applications open in October 2026 |
| Pennsylvania: Governor's School for the Sciences | Rising seniors who live in Pennsylvania | Five weeks at Carnegie Mellon; no cost | Applications October 1, 2026 to January 31, 2027; program June 27 to July 31, 2027 |
| South Carolina: Governor's School for Science and Mathematics | High school juniors and seniors | A two-year, tuition-free residential high school, not a summer program | Not posted |
| South Carolina: Governor's School for the Arts and Humanities summer programs | Grades 7-9 in writing, drama, film, music and visual arts; grades 6-11 in dance | Overnight summer arts programs; cost not stated | Not posted |
| Tennessee: Sciences and Engineering | Rising juniors and seniors at Tennessee high schools with a 3.5 GPA or higher | Four weeks at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville; full or partial scholarships | Applications open October 1, due November 20, 2026; program June 6 to July 3, 2027 |
| Tennessee: Governor's School for the Arts | Rising 11th and 12th graders who live in Tennessee | Three weeks; competitive auditions in January or February | Applications open October 1, 2026; program June 5-27, 2027 |
| Texas: Texas Governor's School | High-achieving rising 11th and 12th graders who live in Texas | Summer residential programs of at least three weeks, run by designated public universities | Set by each university |
| Vermont: Governor's Institutes of Vermont | Any Vermont 9th, 10th or 11th grader | Summer institutes on college campuses; sliding-scale tuition from $10 | 2027 applications open in January 2027 |
| West Virginia: Governor's Honors Academy | West Virginia juniors with at least a 3.5 GPA or in the top 10% of their class | Three weeks, residential; state funds tuition, room and board | 2027 dates not posted |

Two more to know. West Virginia runs a family of Governor's Schools that its education department describes as free summer programs for grades 9-11, including a School for the Arts for sophomores, a Computer Science Institute and schools for entrepreneurship and tourism. Virginia also runs summer residential Governor's Schools, listed on our [Virginia Governor's School page](/extracurriculars/virginia-governors-school). The Virginia Department of Education's page wouldn't load for us on September 26, so check it directly for current details.

### How Selection Works

#### If your school nominates you

In nominated programs, the first round happens inside your school or district, often months before the state deadline. North Carolina says each district or school sets its own nomination process and tells students to ask their counselor. Georgia starts with a local selection process, and only nominees get the state application link. In West Virginia, each county sets its own deadline and a county committee picks two students for the Governor's Honors Academy. New Jersey's engineering program lets a high school nominate one applicant for every 325 juniors. If you want to be considered, tell your counselor in September, before the nominees are chosen.

#### If you apply directly

Direct-application programs look a lot like selective summer programs. Pennsylvania's asks for a personal information form, summaries of your science and other activities, a narrative essay, a topical essay, two recommendations from teachers in different core subjects and a counselor recommendation, all due January 31, 2027. Tennessee's science and engineering program has you start with the state's Unified Application and then complete a supplemental form with two essays and two teacher recommendations. Our guide to [summer program essays and recommendations](/blog/summer-program-application-essays-recommendations) covers both parts.

### Before You Apply: Read the Fine Print

- **Full attendance is expected.** North Carolina doesn't allow absences for conferences, competitions, performances or sports camps. Mississippi's is a fully residential, closed-campus program.
- **Some programs are once only.** North Carolina says you can apply in only one discipline and attend only once. Mississippi only takes students who haven't attended before.
- **"Free" can still cost something.** Mississippi leaves transportation and dorm supplies to families. Georgia lists travel to the semifinalist event and the campus, basic supplies and spending money.
- **Look for more than one program in your state.** Tennessee, South Carolina, Kentucky, New Jersey and West Virginia each have more than one Governor's School or Governor's program, in different subjects.

### If Your State Isn't Here

This list covers only the programs in our catalog, so a state missing here may still have a Governor's School. Check your state department of education's website or ask your counselor. Meanwhile, the [gifted and talented](/extracurriculars/gifted) and [summer program](/extracurriculars/summer-programs) pages list other options, and our guide to [finding extracurriculars in your state](/blog/how-to-find-extracurriculars-in-your-state) covers state science fairs, legislative page programs and more. Save the programs you choose to the [Activities Builder](/activities) so fall deadlines don't sneak up on you.

## Sources

- [Alabama Governor's School at Samford University](https://www.samford.edu/programs/alabama-governors-school/) (checked September 27, 2026)
- [Alabama Governor's School: Apply or Nominate](https://www.samford.edu/programs/alabama-governors-school/apply) (checked September 27, 2026)
- [Arkansas Governor's School, Arkansas Tech University](https://www.atu.edu/ags/index.php) (checked September 27, 2026)
- [Delaware Governor's School for Excellence, University of Delaware](https://www.pcs.udel.edu/govschool/) (checked September 27, 2026)
- [Georgia Governor's Honors Program](https://goews.georgia.gov/governors-honors-program) (checked September 27, 2026)
- [Georgia Governor's Honors Program: Application Process](https://goews.georgia.gov/governors-honors-program/nominee-resources/application-process) (checked September 27, 2026)
- [Kentucky Governor's Scholars Program](https://gsp.ky.gov/Pages/index.aspx) (checked September 27, 2026)
- [Kentucky Governor's School for Entrepreneurs: Summer Startup](https://kentuckygse.com/summer-startup/) (checked September 27, 2026)
- [Louisiana Governor's Program for Gifted Children: Apply Now](https://gpgc.org/eligibility-and-admissions/application-forms/) (checked September 27, 2026)
- [Louisiana Governor's Program for Gifted Children: Investment](https://gpgc.org/eligibility-and-admissions/investment-3/) (checked September 27, 2026)
- [Mississippi Governor's School, Mississippi University for Women](https://www.muw.edu/education/govschool/) (checked September 27, 2026)
- [Governor's School of New Jersey](https://www.nj.gov/govschool/) (checked September 27, 2026)
- [Governor's School of New Jersey Program in Engineering & Technology](https://gset.rutgers.edu/) (checked September 27, 2026)
- [North Carolina Governor's School, NC Department of Public Instruction](https://www.dpi.nc.gov/students-families/enhanced-opportunities/north-carolina-governors-school) (checked September 27, 2026)
- [North Dakota Governor's School, University of North Dakota](https://und.edu/academics/nd-governor-school.html) (checked September 27, 2026)
- [Pennsylvania Governor's School for the Sciences](https://www.cmu.edu/mcs/pgss/index.html) (checked September 27, 2026)
- [Pennsylvania Governor's School for the Sciences: Apply](https://www.cmu.edu/mcs/pgss/3-apply/index.html) (checked September 27, 2026)
- [South Carolina Governor's School for Science and Mathematics](https://www.scgssm.org/) (checked September 27, 2026)
- [South Carolina Governor's School for the Arts and Humanities: Summer Programs](https://www.scgsah.org/summer-programs) (checked September 27, 2026)
- [Tennessee Governor's School for the Arts](https://gsfta.com/) (checked September 27, 2026)
- [Tennessee Governor's School for the Sciences and Engineering](https://gsse.utk.edu/) (checked September 27, 2026)
- [Tennessee Governor's School for the Sciences and Engineering: Application](https://gsse.utk.edu/gsse-application/) (checked September 27, 2026)
- [Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board: Texas Governor's School Program](https://www.highered.texas.gov/grants/texas-governors-school-program/) (checked September 27, 2026)
- [Governor's Institutes of Vermont](https://giv.org/) (checked September 27, 2026)
- [Governor's Institutes of Vermont: Apply](https://giv.org/apply/) (checked September 27, 2026)
- [West Virginia Department of Education: Governor's Schools of West Virginia](https://wvde.us/academics/middle-secondary-education/student-events-programs-initiatives/governors-schools-west-virginia) (checked September 27, 2026)
- [West Virginia Department of Education: Governor's Honors Academy](https://wvde.us/academics/middle-secondary-education/student-events-programs-initiatives/governors-schools/governors-honors-academy) (checked September 27, 2026)

Last reviewed against these sources on September 27, 2026.

## Frequently asked questions

### Are Governor's Schools free?

Many are, but not all. The Pennsylvania Governor's School for the Sciences says there is no cost to participate, Mississippi covers tuition, room, meals and activities, and New Jersey's programs are tuition-free. Louisiana's seven-week program charged up to $3,000 for residents in 2026, on a sliding scale by household income, and Tennessee's science and engineering program admits students with either full or partial scholarships. Even free programs may leave travel and supplies to you.

### Can I attend another state's Governor's School?

Usually not. Most programs are for residents or students at in-state schools: Pennsylvania's requires Pennsylvania residency, Mississippi's Mississippi residency, and Tennessee's science and engineering program is for students who attend high school in Tennessee. Louisiana's Governor's Program for Gifted Children is an exception that lists an out-of-state price of $4,000.

### When should I apply to Governor's School?

Start in the fall of the year before the program. Pennsylvania and Tennessee open applications on October 1, 2026, Mississippi's closes November 1, 2026, and Tennessee's science and engineering program closes November 20, 2026. Nominated programs such as North Carolina's and Georgia's run through your school first, often on an earlier local deadline, so ask your counselor in September.

### Do Governor's Schools give college credit?

Most of the ones we checked don't. North Carolina's says it does not involve credit, tests or grades, Pennsylvania's has no grades, and Arkansas's and West Virginia's Governor's Honors Academy are non-credit programs. Mississippi's is an exception: scholars earn three hours of honors college credit through Mississippi University for Women.

---

Last updated: 2026-10-05.
Canonical page: https://extracurricularhub.com/blog/governors-schools-how-to-find-your-state
ExtracurricularHub (https://extracurricularhub.com) is a program discovery directory. Details come from the catalog record shown on the canonical page above.
