Summer 2027 For high school students

Summer 2027 programs with stipends or paid roles

Paid here means money paid to the student, rather than tuition paid by the student. A stipend can be conditional and may cover only part of your expenses.

Planning for 2027. Check the year on dates and prices, then confirm the current application window on the official site.

No paid placements. Listings are ranked by fit, never by payment. Methodology.

Showing 1 to 12 of 26 matching programs. Ordered by name.

Share or print this list

Compare 1 of 3 programs

Clear comparison

Catalog facts retain their cycle. Check the official sources before applying or paying. On a phone, scroll the table sideways.

Selected programs, application facts and official sources
Program factsPrepareRI High School Internship ProgramRemove
Application deadlineUnconfirmed — check official site
CostUnconfirmed — check official site
Financial aidUnconfirmed — check official site
Expenses and aid conditionsUnconfirmed — check official site
Stipend or payLast year's cycle (2026): Completed 2026 — 2026 internship wages: Unconfirmed — check official site; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site
EligibilityGrade 11 when applying; summer rising grade is one higher
Additional eligibilityMinimum age 16; Residency: Rhode Island resident; Requirement: For 2026, be a current high-school junior; Requirement: Attend a Rhode Island public or public-charter high school, or homeschool with an identified local LEA; Requirement: Be at least 16 years old by March 30, 2026; Requirement: Be legally eligible to work in the United States and provide required employment documentation; Requirement: Obtain parent or guardian consent; Requirement: Complete the online application and required SkillsRI and/or employer interviews; Requirement: Attend the full paid bootcamp and work at least 150 internship hours with summer schedule flexibility; Exclusion: The completed 2026 dates, age cutoff, junior year, wage, and eligibility rules are not yet confirmed for 2027; Exclusion: Private/parochial-school eligibility is not stated on the current 2026 page; Exclusion: Basic eligibility does not guarantee advancement, employer matching, a specific industry, 280 hours, or $4,700 in earnings; Exclusion: Incomplete or late 2026 applications were not accepted
Session dates or durationCatalog terms: 7 weeks; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site
FormatIn person
Housing and supervisionNon-residential. Supervision and housing details: Unconfirmed — check official site
LocationRhode Island statewide; employer-specific placement
Selection and applicationSelection: There were no academic or attendance limitations for basic 2026 eligibility, but students were selected and matched based on qualifications, fit, preparedness, and skill. No application count, acceptance rate, match rate, or guaranteed placement is published. Application materials: SkillsRI interview and any employer interview requested for advancement
Official sourcesSource 1 · checked 2026-08-20Source 2 · checked 2026-08-20Source 3 · checked 2026-08-20

Catalog programs to compare

  • American Chemical Society

    ACS Project SEED Summer Program

    Paid 8–10-week chemistry research fellowship for financially eligible high-school students; 2026 applications are closed and both Summer I/II paid $4,000.

    Application deadline
    Unconfirmed — check official site
    Cost
    Unconfirmed — check official site
    Session dates or duration
    Catalog terms: 8–10 weeks; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site
    Format
    Hybrid
    Location
    Participating university, government, and industry research sites; virtual projects may also be offered
    Stipend or pay
    Last year's cycle (2026): 2026 Summer I or Summer II fellowship: $4,000; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Eligibility: Grades 10–12 when applying; check the provider's rules for graduating seniors

    Must be able to participate at an available Project SEED site or eligible virtual project; in-person site selection considers a safe daily commute; Document household annual income at or below 300% of applicable Federal Poverty Guidelines; Have completed at least one high-school chemistry course and demonstrate interest in science or chemistry; Obtain parent/guardian permission if under 18; Be available for the full project, normally at least eight weeks and about 40 hours weekly for in-person research

    Housing: Non-residential. Supervision and housing details: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Selection: Local coordinators select among financially and academically eligible applicants based on performance, science interest, full-summer availability, site capacity/budget, safe commute, and mentor/project fit. ACS publishes no single current acceptance rate.

    Financial aid: Unconfirmed — check official site
    All requirements, expenses and sources

    Expenses and aid conditions: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Full eligibility requirements: Residency: Must be able to participate at an available Project SEED site or eligible virtual project; in-person site selection considers a safe daily commute; Requirement: Document household annual income at or below 300% of applicable Federal Poverty Guidelines; Requirement: Provide an accepted tax, free/reduced-lunch, SNAP/WIC, TRIO, or SAT/ACT fee-waiver eligibility document; Requirement: Preferably be a current high-school sophomore, junior, or senior; the 2026 cycle also allowed graduating seniors; Requirement: Have completed at least one high-school chemistry course and demonstrate interest in science or chemistry; Requirement: Obtain parent/guardian permission if under 18; Requirement: Be available for the full project, normally at least eight weeks and about 40 hours weekly for in-person research; Requirement: Meet the local site's commute, safety, lab, onboarding, and schedule requirements; Exclusion: Applicants who cannot document the financial-eligibility requirement; Exclusion: Applicants without completed high-school chemistry; Exclusion: Applicants unable to commit to the selected site's full schedule or safely commute for an in-person placement; Exclusion: Assuming prior lab experience is required or guarantees selection; Exclusion: Assuming application guarantees a placement, preferred lab, virtual option, $4,000 next-cycle amount, conference trip, publication, college credit, recommendation, scholarship, admission advantage, or job

    Selection and application: Selection: Local coordinators select among financially and academically eligible applicants based on performance, science interest, full-summer availability, site capacity/budget, safe commute, and mentor/project fit. ACS publishes no single current acceptance rate.

    Last source check . Official source

  • Boyce Thompson Institute

    Boyce Thompson Institute High School Research Experience

    A six-week, full-time plant-science or computational-biology internship for year-round Ithaca-area students age 16+ who are not graduating; the next cycle is unannounced.

    Application deadline
    Unconfirmed — check official site
    Cost
    Unconfirmed — check official site
    Session dates or duration
    Catalog terms: 6 weeks; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site
    Format
    In person
    Location
    Ithaca, New York, Ithaca region and surrounding counties
    Stipend or pay
    Historical cycle (2025): Most recently published six-week educational stipend: $4,200; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Eligibility: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Minimum age 16; Year-round resident of the Ithaca region or surrounding counties within roughly a one-hour commute; Demonstrate interest in plant science, computational biology, or a related research area

    Housing: Non-residential. Supervision and housing details: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Selection: Small, locally restricted research internship. BTI does not publish a current acceptance rate or number of next-cycle positions; final placement depends on available mentors and projects.

    Financial aid: Unconfirmed — check official site
    All requirements, expenses and sources

    Expenses and aid conditions: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Full eligibility requirements: Minimum age 16; Residency: Year-round resident of the Ithaca region or surrounding counties within roughly a one-hour commute; Requirement: Be a current high-school student and at least 16 before the first program day; Requirement: Have at least one high-school term remaining after the summer; Requirement: Be available in person full-time Monday through Friday for all six weeks; Requirement: Arrange reliable daily transportation to BTI or the assigned local lab; Requirement: Demonstrate interest in plant science, computational biology, or a related research area; Requirement: No prior laboratory experience is required; Exclusion: Graduating seniors are ineligible; Exclusion: Students outside the year-round local commuting region are ineligible; Exclusion: Housing, meals, and travel support are not provided; Exclusion: Lab, project, mentor, stipend, and selection are not guaranteed

    Selection and application: Selection: Small, locally restricted research internship. BTI does not publish a current acceptance rate or number of next-cycle positions; final placement depends on available mentors and projects. Application materials: 500-700-word essay on research interest and career or education goals

    Last source check . Official source

  • Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard

    Broad Summer Scholars Program

    Free six-week, $3,600 paid biomedical-research internship for Massachusetts high-school juniors who can commute daily to Broad in Cambridge.

    Application deadline
    January 20, 2027 (2027 cycle)
    Cost
    Unconfirmed — check official site
    Session dates or duration
    Catalog terms: 6 weeks; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site
    Format
    In person
    Location
    Cambridge, Massachusetts, Broad Institute; daily commute required from a Massachusetts high school community
    Stipend or pay
    Last year's cycle (2026): 2026 scholar stipend: $3,600; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Eligibility: Grade 11; Grade timing: Unconfirmed — check official site

    U.S. citizen, lawful permanent resident, or non-U.S. citizen with employment authorization; Must attend a Massachusetts high school within daily commuting distance of Broad

    Housing: Non-residential. Supervision and housing details: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Selection: Applications receive holistic merit review based on coursework, extracurricular interests, science enthusiasm, teacher recommendations, and potential community contribution. Broad publishes recent cohort names but no current applicant count or acceptance rate.

    Financial aid: Unconfirmed — check official site
    All requirements, expenses and sources

    Expenses and aid conditions: Last year's cycle (2026): Daily transportation reimbursement: Amount: Unconfirmed — check official site. Broad promises partial reimbursement but does not publish limits or eligible modes.; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Full eligibility requirements: Citizenship: U.S. citizen, lawful permanent resident, or non-U.S. citizen with employment authorization; Residency: Must attend a Massachusetts high school within daily commuting distance of Broad; Requirement: Apply as a current high-school junior/rising senior; Requirement: Earn B or better grades in science and mathematics; Requirement: Show enthusiasm for science; prior research is not required; Requirement: Attend the entire six-week program without other courses, programs, or employment during program hours; Exclusion: Out-of-state high-school students are ineligible even if they can commute or arrange housing; Exclusion: Students unable to attend every program day are ineligible

    Selection and application: Selection: Applications receive holistic merit review based on coursework, extracurricular interests, science enthusiasm, teacher recommendations, and potential community contribution. Broad publishes recent cohort names but no current applicant count or acceptance rate. Application materials: Teacher recommendation material; the FAQ does not state the number

    Last source check . Official source

  • University of Washington Paul G. Allen School of Computer Science & Engineering

    Changemakers in Computing (CiC)

    A free four-week UW Seattle program for Washington rising juniors/seniors combining introductory coding, technology ethics, college support, mentors, meals, and a USD 1,200 stipend; 2026 is closed.

    Application deadline
    Unconfirmed — check official site
    Cost
    Catalog terms: Free attendance; check separate expenses; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site
    Session dates or duration
    Catalog terms: 4 weeks; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site
    Format
    In person
    Location
    Seattle, University of Washington Seattle campus
    Stipend or pay
    Catalog terms: Mentee stipend: $1,200; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Eligibility: Grades 10–11 when applying; summer rising grade is one higher

    Must be a Washington State resident and enrolled in a Washington State high school

    Housing: Non-residential. Supervision and housing details: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Selection: Every on-time application is reviewed equally, but UW does not publish seats, applicant totals, or an acceptance rate.

    Financial aid: Unconfirmed — check official site
    All requirements, expenses and sources

    Expenses and aid conditions: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Full eligibility requirements: Residency: Must be a Washington State resident and enrolled in a Washington State high school; Requirement: Be in grade 10 or 11 when applying, entering grade 11 or 12 in fall; Requirement: Be interested in technology, society, justice, and changemaking; Requirement: Be able to travel to UW Seattle Monday-Thursday; Requirement: Commit to the full four-week program; no coding background required; Exclusion: Students outside Washington or not enrolled at a Washington high school are ineligible; Exclusion: CiC does not provide housing; Exclusion: Historical 2026 rules may change for 2027

    Selection and application: Selection: Every on-time application is reviewed equally, but UW does not publish seats, applicant totals, or an acceptance rate.

    Last source check . Official source

  • Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory

    Fermilab Program for Research, Innovation, and STEM Mentorship (PRISM)

    Fermilab PRISM is a four-week STEM summer school scheduled for July 12–August 6, 2027. Activities include lectures, hands-on work, tours and a final research abstract, poster or presentation. The page describes both on-site and off-site work; off-site work does not by itself establish virtual delivery.

    Application deadline
    March 1, 2027 (2027 cycle)
    Cost
    Unconfirmed — check official site
    Session dates or duration
    Starts July 12, 2027; Ends August 6, 2027; 4 weeks (2027 cycle)
    Format
    Unconfirmed — check official site
    Location
    Unconfirmed — check official site
    Stipend or pay
    Catalog terms: Weekly salary: $500; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Eligibility: Unconfirmed — check official site

    U.S. citizen; Enrolled at an Illinois high school

    Housing: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Financial aid: Unconfirmed — check official site
    All requirements, expenses and sources

    Expenses and aid conditions: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Full eligibility requirements: Citizenship: U.S. citizen; Residency: Enrolled at an Illinois high school; Requirement: Senior in 2027–28 or 2027 graduate; proof of insurance

    Selection and application: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Last source check . Official source

  • Ronald Reagan Presidential Foundation & Institute

    Great American Leadership Program Paid Summer Internship

    Paid full-time summer education internship supporting the Great American Leadership Program. The undated posting describes college students as ideal candidates and lists Pepperdine housing, meals and work transportation; current intake and a high-school route are unconfirmed.

    Application deadline
    Unconfirmed — check official site
    Cost
    Unconfirmed — check official site
    Session dates or duration
    Catalog terms: 6.57 weeks; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site
    Format
    In person
    Location
    Simi Valley, California, Malibu, California, Program travel locations as assigned, Ronald Reagan Presidential Library, Pepperdine University housing, and off-site GALP delivery
    Stipend or pay
    Catalog terms: Intern wages: Unconfirmed — check official site; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Eligibility: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Housing: Residential. Supervision and housing details: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Selection: RRPFI screens resumes and required videos for a paid summer role, but does not publish the applicant count, internship cohort size, acceptance rate, interview stages, or scoring rubric on the official page.

    Financial aid: Unconfirmed — check official site
    All requirements, expenses and sources

    Expenses and aid conditions: Catalog terms: Pepperdine University housing: $0. Provided for interns during the program.; Pepperdine meal plan: $0. Provided during the internship.; Pepperdine-Reagan Library and program-related travel: $0. Work transportation and program-related travel support are provided.; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Full eligibility requirements: Requirement: The posting describes current college or university students as ideal candidates; confirm current role eligibility with the provider; Requirement: Have legal authorization to work in the United States; Requirement: Be available full-time and in person for the listed summer dates; Requirement: Be willing to work weekends and travel with program staff as needed; Requirement: Demonstrate organization, flexibility, civic-education or leadership interest, and fit with the Foundation's mission; Exclusion: A high-school application route is not established; the posting does not state an absolute college-enrollment requirement; Exclusion: Paid internship selection does not guarantee school credit, future employment, recommendation, scholarship, political appointment, or college-admissions benefit; Exclusion: Applicants must be comfortable supporting programming grounded in the Foundation's stated interpretation of President Reagan's leadership and legacy

    Selection and application: Selection: RRPFI screens resumes and required videos for a paid summer role, but does not publish the applicant count, internship cohort size, acceptance rate, interview stages, or scoring rubric on the official page. Application materials: Any interview or employment forms requested after screening

    Last source check . Official source

  • GrubStreet Young Adult Writers Program (YAWP)

    GrubStreet Teen Summer Writing Fellowship

    Free, selective three-week Boston writing fellowship for local students entering grades 9-12, with mentorship, publication, meals, and an $800 completion stipend in 2026.

    Application deadline
    Unconfirmed — check official site
    Cost
    Last year's cycle (2026): Free attendance; check separate expenses; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site
    Session dates or duration
    Last year's cycle (2026): Starts July 20, 2026; Ends August 7, 2026; 3–4 weeks; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site
    Format
    In person
    Location
    Boston, Massachusetts, GrubStreet Center for Creative Writing, 50 Liberty Drive, Suite 500, Boston Seaport
    Stipend or pay
    Last year's cycle (2026): 2026 successful completion stipend: $800; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Eligibility: Grades 9–12; Grade timing: Unconfirmed — check official site

    For 2026, both live and attend school in Suffolk, Norfolk, Middlesex, Essex, or Plymouth County, Massachusetts; Boston residents prioritized

    Housing: Non-residential. Supervision and housing details: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Selection: Twenty fellows and a short alternate list were selected in 2026. GrubStreet publishes no applicant count, acceptance rate, scoring rubric, or guaranteed future cohort size.

    Financial aid: Unconfirmed — check official site
    All requirements, expenses and sources

    Expenses and aid conditions: Last year's cycle (2026): Core-program lunch and snacks: $0. Provided during the 2026 core program; dietary coverage and future availability should be confirmed.; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Full eligibility requirements: Residency: For 2026, both live and attend school in Suffolk, Norfolk, Middlesex, Essex, or Plymouth County, Massachusetts; Boston residents prioritized; Requirement: Enter grade 9, 10, 11, or 12 in the fall after the fellowship; Requirement: Show an active creative-writing practice in any eligible genre and willingness to experiment across genres; Requirement: Attend the full weekday three-week core, daily writing and workshop sessions, Friday open mics, and culminating showcase; Requirement: Give and receive constructive peer feedback and complete the fellowship's writing, performance, conduct, and community requirements; Requirement: Observe the every-other-year limit and maximum of one participation in each grade band; Exclusion: Applicants outside the controlling local residence-and-school counties; Exclusion: Academic essays in place of the required creative-writing sample; Exclusion: Repeat attendance in consecutive years or more than once in the same incoming grade band; Exclusion: Acceptance does not guarantee the stipend without successful completion; Exclusion: The optional anthology week is not a substitute for the core fellowship

    Selection and application: Selection: Twenty fellows and a short alternate list were selected in 2026. GrubStreet publishes no applicant count, acceptance rate, scoring rubric, or guaranteed future cohort size. Application materials: Personal statement of no more than 600 words about what the applicant would gain and contribute; Teacher or mentor name and contact information, but no recommendation letter was listed

    Last source check . Official source

  • Salk Institute for Biological Studies

    Heithoff-Brody High School Summer Scholars

    Salk's Heithoff-Brody Summer Scholars program offers paid, mentored laboratory research from June 14–August 6, 2027.

    Application deadline
    February 15, 2027 (2027 cycle)
    Cost
    Unconfirmed — check official site
    Session dates or duration
    Starts June 14, 2027; Ends August 6, 2027 (2027 cycle)
    Format
    In person
    Location
    Unconfirmed — check official site
    Stipend or pay
    2027 paid internship: Unconfirmed — check official site (2027 cycle)

    Eligibility: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Minimum age 16; Residence in San Diego County and attendance at a county high school in the most recent semester.; At least 16 by June 14, 2027, with a GPA of at least 2.75 and completed biology coursework; chemistry is preferred. Students under 18 need a work permit.

    Housing: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Financial aid: Unconfirmed — check official site
    All requirements, expenses and sources

    Expenses and aid conditions: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Full eligibility requirements: Minimum age 16; Residency: Residence in San Diego County and attendance at a county high school in the most recent semester.; Requirement: At least 16 by June 14, 2027, with a GPA of at least 2.75 and completed biology coursework; chemistry is preferred. Students under 18 need a work permit.

    Selection and application: Application materials: UKG application, resume, unofficial transcript, recommendation and short questions. No prior laboratory experience required. Interviews March–April; status in April.

    Last source check . Official source

  • Mikva Challenge

    Mikva Challenge Summer Fellows

    Paid six-week public-service internship after senior year in Cook or Lake County public offices; Cook County paid $17/hour in 2026, whose cycle is no longer open.

    Application deadline
    Unconfirmed — check official site
    Cost
    Unconfirmed — check official site
    Session dates or duration
    Catalog terms: 6 weeks; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site
    Format
    In person
    Location
    Chicago, Illinois, Cook County and Lake County public offices and Mikva workshop locations, branch-specific
    Stipend or pay
    Last year's cycle (2026): Cook County Summer Fellows 2026 hourly wage: $17; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Eligibility: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Ages 16–22; Cook County or Lake County under the selected 2026 branch and placement rules; Be age 16-22 by the cycle's published cutoff; Commit to 30 hours weekly for six weeks plus workshops and placement-specific requirements

    Housing: Non-residential. Supervision and housing details: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Selection: Eligibility and hiring depend on county, age, graduation status, funded workforce criteria, application quality, placement capacity, office fit, and employment requirements. Cook County cited approximately 50 placements; no current overall acceptance rate is published.

    Financial aid: Unconfirmed — check official site
    All requirements, expenses and sources

    Expenses and aid conditions: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Full eligibility requirements: Ages 16–22; Residency: Cook County or Lake County under the selected 2026 branch and placement rules; Requirement: Be a graduating or recently graduated high-school student or other eligible opportunity youth under the selected branch; Requirement: Be age 16-22 by the cycle's published cutoff; Requirement: Not be a current college student under the 2026 form; Requirement: Meet Cook or Lake County geography and commute requirements; Requirement: For the Cook County IYIP-funded branch, meet and document at least one current state workforce-program eligibility criterion; Requirement: Be eligible for paid employment, payroll, and the assigned public office; Requirement: Commit to 30 hours weekly for six weeks plus workshops and placement-specific requirements; Exclusion: Current college students under the 2026 form; Exclusion: Applicants outside the branch's county or placement geography; Exclusion: Applicants who do not meet the funded branch's workforce-program eligibility; Exclusion: Treating current grades 9-11 Citywide Youth Councils or Youth Organizing Academy as Summer Fellows; Exclusion: Assuming the age 16-22, $17 rate, employer, office, or eligibility checklist persists in 2027; Exclusion: Submitting sensitive eligibility data through a stale form without confirming the cycle

    Selection and application: Selection: Eligibility and hiring depend on county, age, graduation status, funded workforce criteria, application quality, placement capacity, office fit, and employment requirements. Cook County cited approximately 50 placements; no current overall acceptance rate is published.

    Last source check . Official source

  • Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center

    MSK HOPP Summer Student Program

    MSK's Human Oncology and Pathogenesis Program offers current high-school juniors mentored research in Manhattan from June 29–August 20, 2027.

    Application deadline
    February 5, 2027 (2027 cycle)
    Cost
    Unconfirmed — check official site
    Session dates or duration
    Starts June 29, 2027; Ends August 20, 2027 (2027 cycle)
    Format
    In person
    Location
    Unconfirmed — check official site
    Stipend or pay
    2027 summer stipend: $1,200 (2027 cycle)

    Eligibility: Grade 11 when applying; summer rising grade is one higher

    Minimum age 16; Legally authorized to work in the United States.; New York, New Jersey or Connecticut, within 25 miles of MSK’s main Upper East Side campus.; Current high-school junior with a science GPA of at least 3.5, age 16 by June 2027 and availability for the entire eight weeks.

    Housing: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Financial aid: Unconfirmed — check official site
    All requirements, expenses and sources

    Expenses and aid conditions: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Full eligibility requirements: Minimum age 16; Citizenship: Legally authorized to work in the United States.; Residency: New York, New Jersey or Connecticut, within 25 miles of MSK’s main Upper East Side campus.; Requirement: Current high-school junior with a science GPA of at least 3.5, age 16 by June 2027 and availability for the entire eight weeks.

    Selection and application: Application materials: Short essays, one-page resume, all high-school unofficial transcripts and no more than two STEM teacher/counselor/research-mentor letters. Do not contact faculty for placement; offer acceptance within three days. Publication/competition use requires PI permission.

    Last source check . Official source

  • National Institutes of Health Office of Intramural Training & Education

    NIH Summer Internship Program (SIP) — High School Senior Eligibility

    Paid NIH research internship. The earlier Summer 2027 guidance limits high-school applicants to graduating seniors who meet citizenship, age and local-residence conditions. Current dates and availability are unconfirmed.

    Application deadline
    Unconfirmed — check official site
    Cost
    Unconfirmed — check official site
    Session dates or duration
    Unconfirmed — check official site
    Format
    In person
    Location
    Bethesda, NIH campuses; exact campus and research group vary by placement
    Stipend or pay
    Catalog terms: Summer 2027 NIH SIP stipend: Unconfirmed — check official site; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Eligibility: Grade 12 when applying; check the provider's rules for graduating seniors

    Minimum age 17; U.S. citizen; U.S. permanent resident; A graduating senior who is 17 on June 1, 2027 and turns 18 by September 30 must have a permanent home address within 40 miles of an NIH campus; Permanent residents must attend or be accepted by a U.S. educational institution; Be 18 by September 30, 2027 and satisfy the special local-residence rule if still 17 on June 1

    Housing: Non-residential. Supervision and housing details: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Selection: There is no centralized selection. Individual NIH PIs search applications, interview candidates, choose interns and supply funding; satisfying minimum eligibility does not guarantee a match.

    Financial aid: Unconfirmed — check official site
    All requirements, expenses and sources

    Expenses and aid conditions: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Full eligibility requirements: Minimum age 17; Citizenship: U.S. citizen; Citizenship: U.S. permanent resident; Residency: A graduating senior who is 17 on June 1, 2027 and turns 18 by September 30 must have a permanent home address within 40 miles of an NIH campus; Residency: Permanent residents must attend or be accepted by a U.S. educational institution; Requirement: Be enrolled at least half-time as a high-school senior when applying; Requirement: Graduate high school before the internship begins; Requirement: Be 18 by September 30, 2027 and satisfy the special local-residence rule if still 17 on June 1; Requirement: Provide proof of health insurance; Requirement: Be available for a full-time research position during work hours; Exclusion: Students in grades 9-11 are not eligible through this SIP rule; Exclusion: The program is unavailable to applicants who are neither U.S. citizens nor permanent residents; Exclusion: Summer classes or other daytime responsibilities are incompatible with the full-time position; Exclusion: Family employment at NIH may trigger nepotism restrictions; Exclusion: Application does not guarantee PI contact, interview, funding or placement

    Selection and application: Selection: There is no centralized selection. Individual NIH PIs search applications, interview candidates, choose interns and supply funding; satisfying minimum eligibility does not guarantee a match. Application materials: Personal statement describing research experience, interests, goals and SIP fit

    Last source check . Official source

  • Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History

    NMNH Summer High School Internship Program

    The Smithsonian NMNH's paid eight-week museum internship serves DMV-area students ages 15-18 in grades 9-12; the 2026 cycle is complete and 2027 is unannounced.

    Application deadline
    Unconfirmed — check official site
    Cost
    Unconfirmed — check official site
    Session dates or duration
    Last year's cycle (2026): Starts June 23, 2026; Ends August 14, 2026; 8 weeks; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site
    Format
    In person
    Location
    Washington, District of Columbia, Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History
    Stipend or pay
    Last year's cycle (2026): 2026 internship stipend: $5,600; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Eligibility: Grades 9–12; Grade timing: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Ages 15–18; U.S. citizen or permanent U.S. resident; Located in DC, Maryland, or Virginia within commuting distance of the museum for the full program; Age 15-18 at the start of the internship

    Housing: Non-residential. Supervision and housing details: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Selection: Selective; applicants rank projects, but a ranked department or project is not guaranteed.

    Financial aid: Unconfirmed — check official site
    All requirements, expenses and sources

    Expenses and aid conditions: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Full eligibility requirements: Ages 15–18; Citizenship: U.S. citizen or permanent U.S. resident; Residency: Located in DC, Maryland, or Virginia within commuting distance of the museum for the full program; Requirement: Currently enrolled in high school at the time of application; Requirement: Age 15-18 at the start of the internship; Requirement: Write and converse fluently in English; Requirement: Available for the fixed eight-week, 24-hour-per-week schedule; Exclusion: Applicants outside commuting distance; Exclusion: Applicants who cannot attend the full fixed schedule; Exclusion: Family members and friends may not serve as the required recommender

    Selection and application: Selection: Selective; applicants rank projects, but a ranked department or project is not guaranteed. Application materials: Four statement-of-interest responses of 250 words each; One confidential recommendation from a non-family recommender

    Last source check . Official source

Summer 2027 hub · Selective vs. pay-to-play guide · Application guide

Recorded application dates · check the cycle
How to check costs, eligibility and dates

Check the funding terms, payment schedule, work authorization and any local residence rules. An unknown stipend is never treated as paid.

Missing facts say Unconfirmed — check official site. A past session does not establish 2027 availability. Format and location can change between cycles.

Frequently asked questions

Are these programs confirmed for summer 2027?

These are existing catalog programs to research for 2027. Inclusion does not confirm a 2027 session or open applications. The cycle label matters: a 2027-cycle application deadline can fall in 2026. Dates explicitly labeled as the 2026 cycle are historical; missing next-cycle details remain unconfirmed.

Does paid mean I receive money?

This page requires a source-supported stipend or pay signal. Read the funding terms and listed expenses; a stipend does not establish that travel, housing or all other costs are covered.

Can a program pay to appear first?

No paid placements. Listings are ranked by fit, never by payment. Here, fit means matching the filters you choose. Matching listings default to name order; you can sort by recorded deadline or latest source check. Use the methodology page to understand catalog standards.

How do I save a program?

Open its catalog listing and sign in to save it to your plan. You can browse these pages and official program links without signing in.