Governor's Schools: What They Are and How to Find Your State's

Author: ExtracurricularHub Editorial Team · Reviewed by Parker, Founder — editorial policy

Published · Last updated

Article Summary

What Governor's Schools are, who can apply, what they cost and when to apply, state by state, from each program's official page, with 2027 dates posted so far.

Full Article

"Governor's School" sounds like one national program, but it isn't. Each state that has one runs its own, under its own rules, and the name covers several different things: a four-week summer program on a college campus, a one-week institute, a two-year residential high school, even a grant program that designates university summer schools. What most have in common is that the state backs them, they're aimed at strong high school students, and they are free or heavily funded for residents.

This guide covers the Governor's Schools in our catalog. Everything below comes from each program's official page, checked on September 26, 2026. When a page didn't state something, such as a cost or a 2027 date, we say so rather than guess. You can also browse every listing on our Governor's School page.

What Governor's Schools Have in Common

  • They're for residents. Almost every program limits applicants to students who live in the state or attend school there.
  • They target the summer before junior or senior year. Most take rising juniors, rising seniors or both. A few, like Vermont's and Kentucky's entrepreneurship program, start with 9th graders.
  • The state pays much or all of the cost. Pennsylvania, Mississippi, New Jersey, Arkansas, West Virginia, Kentucky and North Dakota say tuition or program costs are covered. Louisiana, Tennessee's science and engineering program and Vermont use scholarships or sliding scales instead.
  • Grades usually aren't the point. North Carolina's program involves no credit, tests or grades, and Pennsylvania's has no grades. Arkansas's program and West Virginia's Governor's Honors Academy are non-credit.
  • Many run through your school. North Carolina, Georgia, Delaware and New Jersey's engineering program take students nominated by their schools, and West Virginia's Governor's Honors Academy runs through schools and counties. Others, like Pennsylvania and Tennessee, take applications directly.

Governor's Schools by State

State and programWho can applyFormat and costDates posted
Alabama: Alabama Governor's School10th and 11th graders at Alabama high schools or homeschooled in Alabama; ACT composite of 25 or higher, or comparable SAT or PSAT13 days, residential, at Samford University; cost not statedHome page says nominations open October 1
Arkansas: Arkansas Governor's SchoolUpcoming seniors who are Arkansas residents, selected in one of nine fieldsFour weeks, residential; state funds cover tuition, room, board and materials2027 dates not posted
Delaware: Governor's School for ExcellenceDelaware students between sophomore and junior year, nominated by their schoolsOne week, residential, at the University of Delaware; cost not statedJuly 11-16, 2027
Georgia: Governor's Honors ProgramSophomores and juniors nominated by their school district or schoolResidential, mid-June to mid-July; meals and rooms provided, but travel and supplies are yoursNominees get the application November 13, 2026; due January 8, 2027
Kentucky: Governor's Scholars ProgramStudents who apply and compete statewideResidential; free for those selectedNot posted
Kentucky: Governor's School for EntrepreneursKentucky 9th, 10th and 11th gradersThree weeks at the University of Kentucky; freeApplications October 2, 2026 to February 1, 2027; program June 20 to July 11, 2027
Louisiana: Governor's Program for Gifted ChildrenStudents identified as gifted; out-of-state students can applySeven weeks, residential, at McNeese State; 2026 cost up to $3,000 for residents on a sliding scale2027 applications not yet open
Mississippi: Mississippi Governor's SchoolMississippi residents in 10th or 11th grade who haven't attended beforeTwo weeks at Mississippi University for Women; tuition, room, meals and activities coveredApply by November 1, 2026; program June 6-19, 2027
New Jersey: Sciences (Drew) and Engineering & Technology (Rutgers)New Jersey residents who have completed junior year; the engineering program takes school nomineesResidential, tuition-free2027 dates not posted
North Carolina: North Carolina Governor's SchoolStudents nominated by their public school unit or non-public schoolFour weeks, residential, on two campuses; cost not statedJune 20 to July 17, 2027
North Dakota: North Dakota Governor's SchoolNorth Dakota sophomores and juniorsJune at the University of North Dakota; costs covered by a state grant, housing and meals includedApplications open in October 2026
Pennsylvania: Governor's School for the SciencesRising seniors who live in PennsylvaniaFive weeks at Carnegie Mellon; no costApplications October 1, 2026 to January 31, 2027; program June 27 to July 31, 2027
South Carolina: Governor's School for Science and MathematicsHigh school juniors and seniorsA two-year, tuition-free residential high school, not a summer programNot posted
South Carolina: Governor's School for the Arts and Humanities summer programsGrades 7-9 in writing, drama, film, music and visual arts; grades 6-11 in danceOvernight summer arts programs; cost not statedNot posted
Tennessee: Sciences and EngineeringRising juniors and seniors at Tennessee high schools with a 3.5 GPA or higherFour weeks at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville; full or partial scholarshipsApplications open October 1, due November 20, 2026; program June 6 to July 3, 2027
Tennessee: Governor's School for the ArtsRising 11th and 12th graders who live in TennesseeThree weeks; competitive auditions in January or FebruaryApplications open October 1, 2026; program June 5-27, 2027
Texas: Texas Governor's SchoolHigh-achieving rising 11th and 12th graders who live in TexasSummer residential programs of at least three weeks, run by designated public universitiesSet by each university
Vermont: Governor's Institutes of VermontAny Vermont 9th, 10th or 11th graderSummer institutes on college campuses; sliding-scale tuition from $102027 applications open in January 2027
West Virginia: Governor's Honors AcademyWest Virginia juniors with at least a 3.5 GPA or in the top 10% of their classThree weeks, residential; state funds tuition, room and board2027 dates not posted

Two more to know. West Virginia runs a family of Governor's Schools that its education department describes as free summer programs for grades 9-11, including a School for the Arts for sophomores, a Computer Science Institute and schools for entrepreneurship and tourism. Virginia also runs summer residential Governor's Schools, listed on our Virginia Governor's School page. The Virginia Department of Education's page wouldn't load for us on September 26, so check it directly for current details.

How Selection Works

If your school nominates you

In nominated programs, the first round happens inside your school or district, often months before the state deadline. North Carolina says each district or school sets its own nomination process and tells students to ask their counselor. Georgia starts with a local selection process, and only nominees get the state application link. In West Virginia, each county sets its own deadline and a county committee picks two students for the Governor's Honors Academy. New Jersey's engineering program lets a high school nominate one applicant for every 325 juniors. If you want to be considered, tell your counselor in September, before the nominees are chosen.

If you apply directly

Direct-application programs look a lot like selective summer programs. Pennsylvania's asks for a personal information form, summaries of your science and other activities, a narrative essay, a topical essay, two recommendations from teachers in different core subjects and a counselor recommendation, all due January 31, 2027. Tennessee's science and engineering program has you start with the state's Unified Application and then complete a supplemental form with two essays and two teacher recommendations. Our guide to summer program essays and recommendations covers both parts.

Before You Apply: Read the Fine Print

  • Full attendance is expected. North Carolina doesn't allow absences for conferences, competitions, performances or sports camps. Mississippi's is a fully residential, closed-campus program.
  • Some programs are once only. North Carolina says you can apply in only one discipline and attend only once. Mississippi only takes students who haven't attended before.
  • "Free" can still cost something. Mississippi leaves transportation and dorm supplies to families. Georgia lists travel to the semifinalist event and the campus, basic supplies and spending money.
  • Look for more than one program in your state. Tennessee, South Carolina, Kentucky, New Jersey and West Virginia each have more than one Governor's School or Governor's program, in different subjects.

If Your State Isn't Here

This list covers only the programs in our catalog, so a state missing here may still have a Governor's School. Check your state department of education's website or ask your counselor. Meanwhile, the gifted and talented and summer program pages list other options, and our guide to finding extracurriculars in your state covers state science fairs, legislative page programs and more. Save the programs you choose to the Activities Builder so fall deadlines don't sneak up on you.

Sources

Facts in this article were last reviewed against these sources on . Programs change their dates and prices; confirm on the official page before you apply.

Frequently Asked Questions

Are Governor's Schools free?

Many are, but not all. The Pennsylvania Governor's School for the Sciences says there is no cost to participate, Mississippi covers tuition, room, meals and activities, and New Jersey's programs are tuition-free. Louisiana's seven-week program charged up to $3,000 for residents in 2026, on a sliding scale by household income, and Tennessee's science and engineering program admits students with either full or partial scholarships. Even free programs may leave travel and supplies to you.

Can I attend another state's Governor's School?

Usually not. Most programs are for residents or students at in-state schools: Pennsylvania's requires Pennsylvania residency, Mississippi's Mississippi residency, and Tennessee's science and engineering program is for students who attend high school in Tennessee. Louisiana's Governor's Program for Gifted Children is an exception that lists an out-of-state price of $4,000.

When should I apply to Governor's School?

Start in the fall of the year before the program. Pennsylvania and Tennessee open applications on October 1, 2026, Mississippi's closes November 1, 2026, and Tennessee's science and engineering program closes November 20, 2026. Nominated programs such as North Carolina's and Georgia's run through your school first, often on an earlier local deadline, so ask your counselor in September.

Do Governor's Schools give college credit?

Most of the ones we checked don't. North Carolina's says it does not involve credit, tests or grades, Pennsylvania's has no grades, and Arkansas's and West Virginia's Governor's Honors Academy are non-credit programs. Mississippi's is an exception: scholars earn three hours of honors college credit through Mississippi University for Women.

Featured Programs

Related Articles

Read more articles on the ExtracurricularHub Student Success Blog about extracurriculars and college applications.