Summer 2027 For high school students

Summer 2027 programs in North Carolina for high school students

Explore summer leads with a source-supported North Carolina location. Location identifies where a program meets; it does not establish who is eligible to attend.

Planning for 2027. Check the year on dates and prices, then confirm the current application window on the official site.

No paid placements. Listings are ranked by fit, never by payment. Methodology.

Showing 1 to 7 of 7 matching programs. Ordered by name.

Share or print this list

Compare 2 of 3 programs

Clear comparison

Catalog facts retain their cycle. Check the official sources before applying or paying. On a phone, scroll the table sideways.

Selected programs, application facts and official sources
Program factsAPPSTATE-STARTALK Chinese Immersion Program: A Bite of ChinaRemoveEast Coast Sierra Club Youth Summer Program (SPROG)Remove
Application deadlineUnconfirmed — check official siteUnconfirmed — check official site
CostUnconfirmed — check official siteUnconfirmed — check official site
Financial aidUnconfirmed — check official siteUnconfirmed — check official site
Expenses and aid conditionsUnconfirmed — check official siteLast year's cycle (2026): SPROG 2026 ticket: $0. Participants could select the USD 0 option with the published SPROG26 code.; Optional contribution: $0–$200. Voluntary contribution toward Sierra Club's costs.; Four nights of dorm lodging and bedding: $0. Provided by the program.; Program meals: $0. All meals were provided.; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site
Stipend or payUnconfirmed — check official siteUnconfirmed — check official site
EligibilityGrades 8–11 (provider uses rising grades)Unconfirmed — check official site
Additional eligibilityRequirement: Be a rising grade 9, 10, 11, or 12 student for the relevant summer cycle; Requirement: Have limited or no prior exposure to Chinese; Requirement: Be able to complete synchronous virtual pre-camp, the full residential component in Boone, and synchronous/asynchronous virtual post-camp work; Requirement: For the completed 2026 cycle, submit the online form and 150-200-word statement of interest while space remained; Exclusion: The 2026 session is complete and the stale form/page must not be used as a current application; Exclusion: Students seeking an advanced-Chinese program were not the target audience; Exclusion: Priority for Southern Appalachia was not stated as a universal residency guarantee or automatic admission; Exclusion: No applicant was guaranteed one of the 18 places, proficiency benchmark, college credit, placement, or home-school recognitionAges 15–25; Requirement: Be age 15–25 by August 5, 2026; Requirement: Attend the full five-day residential session; Requirement: Provide emergency, medical, dietary, accessibility, travel, and room information; Requirement: Sign the participant waiver; Requirement: Obtain a parent signature if under 18; Exclusion: Applicants younger than 15 or older than 25 for the 2026 session
Session dates or durationUnconfirmed — check official siteLast year's cycle (2026): Starts August 5, 2026; Ends August 9, 2026; 0.7 weeks; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site
FormatHybridIn person
Housing and supervisionResidential. Supervision and housing details: Unconfirmed — check official siteResidential. Supervision and housing details: Unconfirmed — check official site
LocationBoone, North Carolina, Priority consideration: Southern Appalachia, especially western North Carolina and east TennesseeLittle Switzerland, North Carolina
Selection and applicationSelection: Rolling admission to 18 places, with priority for Southern Appalachian students, especially western North Carolina and east Tennessee. No application count, acceptance rate, rubric, waitlist rule, or decision timeline is published. Application materials: 150-200-word statement of interest explaining why the student wants to participateSelection: Registration-based 2026 session; capacity and selection method were not stated
Official sourcesSource 1 · checked 2026-08-20Source 1 · checked 2026-08-20Source 2 · checked 2026-08-20Source 3 · checked 2026-08-20

Catalog programs to compare

  • Appalachian State University Department of Languages, Literatures & Cultures

    APPSTATE-STARTALK Chinese Immersion Program: A Bite of China

    Completed 2026 free hybrid Chinese immersion program for 18 rising grades 9-12 beginners, with virtual work plus a three-week residential session in Boone; no 2027 cycle is posted.

    Application deadline
    Unconfirmed — check official site
    Cost
    Unconfirmed — check official site
    Session dates or duration
    Unconfirmed — check official site
    Format
    Hybrid
    Location
    Boone, North Carolina, Priority consideration: Southern Appalachia, especially western North Carolina and east Tennessee
    Stipend or pay
    Unconfirmed — check official site

    Eligibility: Grades 8–11 (provider uses rising grades)

    Be able to complete synchronous virtual pre-camp, the full residential component in Boone, and synchronous/asynchronous virtual post-camp work

    Housing: Residential. Supervision and housing details: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Selection: Rolling admission to 18 places, with priority for Southern Appalachian students, especially western North Carolina and east Tennessee. No application count, acceptance rate, rubric, waitlist rule, or decision timeline is published.

    Financial aid: Unconfirmed — check official site
    All requirements, expenses and sources

    Expenses and aid conditions: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Full eligibility requirements: Requirement: Be a rising grade 9, 10, 11, or 12 student for the relevant summer cycle; Requirement: Have limited or no prior exposure to Chinese; Requirement: Be able to complete synchronous virtual pre-camp, the full residential component in Boone, and synchronous/asynchronous virtual post-camp work; Requirement: For the completed 2026 cycle, submit the online form and 150-200-word statement of interest while space remained; Exclusion: The 2026 session is complete and the stale form/page must not be used as a current application; Exclusion: Students seeking an advanced-Chinese program were not the target audience; Exclusion: Priority for Southern Appalachia was not stated as a universal residency guarantee or automatic admission; Exclusion: No applicant was guaranteed one of the 18 places, proficiency benchmark, college credit, placement, or home-school recognition

    Selection and application: Selection: Rolling admission to 18 places, with priority for Southern Appalachian students, especially western North Carolina and east Tennessee. No application count, acceptance rate, rubric, waitlist rule, or decision timeline is published. Application materials: 150-200-word statement of interest explaining why the student wants to participate

    Last source check . Official source

  • Sierra Student Coalition / Sierra Club

    East Coast Sierra Club Youth Summer Program (SPROG)

    SPROG is Sierra Student Coalition's residential environmental-leadership program for ages 15–25; the five-day 2026 East Coast session is complete.

    Application deadline
    Unconfirmed — check official site
    Cost
    Unconfirmed — check official site
    Session dates or duration
    Last year's cycle (2026): Starts August 5, 2026; Ends August 9, 2026; 0.7 weeks; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site
    Format
    In person
    Location
    Little Switzerland, North Carolina
    Stipend or pay
    Unconfirmed — check official site

    Eligibility: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Ages 15–25; Be age 15–25 by August 5, 2026; Attend the full five-day residential session

    Housing: Residential. Supervision and housing details: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Selection: Registration-based 2026 session; capacity and selection method were not stated

    Financial aid: Unconfirmed — check official site
    All requirements, expenses and sources

    Expenses and aid conditions: Last year's cycle (2026): SPROG 2026 ticket: $0. Participants could select the USD 0 option with the published SPROG26 code.; Optional contribution: $0–$200. Voluntary contribution toward Sierra Club's costs.; Four nights of dorm lodging and bedding: $0. Provided by the program.; Program meals: $0. All meals were provided.; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Full eligibility requirements: Ages 15–25; Requirement: Be age 15–25 by August 5, 2026; Requirement: Attend the full five-day residential session; Requirement: Provide emergency, medical, dietary, accessibility, travel, and room information; Requirement: Sign the participant waiver; Requirement: Obtain a parent signature if under 18; Exclusion: Applicants younger than 15 or older than 25 for the 2026 session

    Selection and application: Selection: Registration-based 2026 session; capacity and selection method were not stated

    Last source check . Official source

  • NC State College of Design, Design Lab for K-12 Education and Outreach

    NC State Design Camp — Design Immersions Residential Program

    Hybrid pre-college design immersion for rising grades 11-12: online fundamentals and orientation followed by a residential NC State studio week producing one portfolio-quality project.

    Application deadline
    Unconfirmed — check official site
    Cost
    Unconfirmed — check official site
    Session dates or duration
    Catalog terms: 1 week; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site
    Format
    Online / In person
    Location
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    Stipend or pay
    Unconfirmed — check official site

    Eligibility: Grades 11–12; Grade timing: Unconfirmed — check official site

    No geographic restriction stated; residential attendance is at NC State; Attend the full residential studio week

    Housing: Residential. Supervision and housing details: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Selection: The 110-seat program uses registration, statements and a waitlist. The organizer does not publish an academic acceptance rate or describe competitive portfolio-based admission.

    Financial aid:
    Read aid terms and conditions

    Last year's cycle (2026): Partial financial-assistance fee waiver: Amount: Unconfirmed — check official site. Limited partial aid based on financial need and motivation; does not cover travel and is not guaranteed.; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site

    All requirements, expenses and sources

    Expenses and aid conditions: Last year's cycle (2026): Historical late-registration fee: $50. Applied after April 10, making the published later total $1,650.; Historical registration deposit: $100. Nonrefundable, applied to fees and required even from aid applicants.; Partial financial-assistance fee waiver: Amount: Unconfirmed — check official site. Limited partial aid based on financial need and motivation; does not cover travel and is not guaranteed.; Lost dorm key charge: $150. Charged only if a residential key is lost.; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Full eligibility requirements: Residency: No geographic restriction stated; residential attendance is at NC State; Requirement: Be entering grade 11 or 12; Requirement: Complete online orientation and design-fundamentals preparation; Requirement: Submit two approximately 250-word statements on design interest and motivation; Requirement: Complete medical and program forms; Requirement: Attend the full residential studio week; Exclusion: Other NC State Design Camp tracks have different grades, formats, costs and activities; Exclusion: Space is limited to 110 and may move to a waitlist; Exclusion: Financial assistance is partial and does not cover travel

    Selection and application: Selection: The 110-seat program uses registration, statements and a waitlist. The organizer does not publish an academic acceptance rate or describe competitive portfolio-based admission. Application materials: Approximately 250-word design-interest statement; Approximately 250-word motivation and goals statement; Optional financial-assistance form and parent/guardian statement of need

    Last source check . Official source

  • North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

    North Carolina Governor's School

    North Carolina’s Governor’s School is a four-week residential programme for gifted high-school students, with academic, arts and interdisciplinary study rather than credit, tests or grades.

    Application deadline
    Unconfirmed — check official site
    Cost
    Unconfirmed — check official site
    Session dates or duration
    Starts June 20, 2027; Ends July 17, 2027; 4 weeks (2027 cycle)
    Format
    In person
    Location
    Raleigh, Greensboro, North Carolina
    Stipend or pay
    Unconfirmed — check official site

    Eligibility: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Gifted high-school students enter through their local school or district nomination process and select one discipline. Exact 2027 grade, residence and discipline requirements need the current packet. Historical grade-10 arts exceptions are not universal eligibility.

    Housing: Residential. Supervision and housing details: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Financial aid: Unconfirmed — check official site
    All requirements, expenses and sources

    Expenses and aid conditions: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Full eligibility requirements: Requirement: Gifted high-school students enter through their local school or district nomination process and select one discipline. Exact 2027 grade, residence and discipline requirements need the current packet. Historical grade-10 arts exceptions are not universal eligibility.

    Selection and application: Application materials: Submit through the local coordinator, following the current student application and recommendation packet. Official district or school contacts submit state nominations; students and parents cannot apply directly to the state.

    Last source check . Official source

  • Society of American Military Engineers

    SAME STEM/Engineering & Construction Camps

    One-week residential engineering camps for U.S. high-school students age 15+, with hands-on challenges, military-service settings and possible SAME Post sponsorship.

    Application deadline
    Unconfirmed — check official site
    Cost
    Unconfirmed — check official site
    Session dates or duration
    Catalog terms: 1 week; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site
    Format
    In person
    Location
    Honolulu, Vicksburg, Jacksonville, Colorado Springs, Camp Lejeune, Port Hueneme, Hawaii, Mississippi, Florida, Colorado, North Carolina, California
    Stipend or pay
    Unconfirmed — check official site

    Eligibility: Grades 10–12; Grade timing: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Minimum age 15; United States citizenship required; Be enrolled in high school and at least 15 years old on arrival

    Housing: Residential. Supervision and housing details: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Selection: Each camp generally serves 40-80 students. SAME Posts review applicants and nominate or sponsor candidates, but SAME publishes no overall applicant count or acceptance rate.

    Financial aid:
    Read aid terms and conditions

    Last year's cycle (2026): Local SAME Post sponsorship: Amount: Unconfirmed — check official site. Posts may pay half or more, but award amounts and availability vary and are not guaranteed.; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site

    All requirements, expenses and sources

    Expenses and aid conditions: Last year's cycle (2026): Reservation payment after selection: Amount: Unconfirmed — check official site. Selected campers paid half the applicable registration fee to hold a place.; Local SAME Post sponsorship: Amount: Unconfirmed — check official site. Posts may pay half or more, but award amounts and availability vary and are not guaranteed.; Travel to the camp region: Amount: Unconfirmed — check official site. Participant responsibility; pickup from the camp's designated closest airport was available under the published travel process.; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Full eligibility requirements: Minimum age 15; Citizenship: United States citizenship required; Requirement: Be enrolled in high school and at least 15 years old on arrival; Requirement: Have completed freshman year for most camps; have completed sophomore year for the Army camp; Requirement: Plan to pursue engineering, architecture or a related STEM degree or career; Requirement: Demonstrate leadership, teamwork, good character and physical ability to participate; Requirement: Provide proof of medical insurance and required health information; Requirement: Confirm the selected camp's GPA rule; official pages variously describe 3.2 as a minimum or highly recommended; Exclusion: The 2026 application and camps are closed; Exclusion: Non-U.S. citizens are not eligible under the published criteria; Exclusion: The Army camp does not accept students who have not completed sophomore year; Exclusion: A student may attend only one SAME camp; Exclusion: Camp placement, top-choice placement and SAME Post sponsorship are not guaranteed; Exclusion: Full-week attendance is required

    Selection and application: Selection: Each camp generally serves 40-80 students. SAME Posts review applicants and nominate or sponsor candidates, but SAME publishes no overall applicant count or acceptance rate.

    Last source check . Official source

  • University of North Carolina School of the Arts

    UNCSA Drama Summer Intensive

    Three-week acting or musical-theatre conservatory intensive for high-school students age 15-18; the waitlisted 2026 session is complete and 2027 details are unannounced.

    Application deadline
    Unconfirmed — check official site
    Cost
    Last year's cycle (2026): $2,433; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site
    Session dates or duration
    Catalog terms: 3 weeks; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site
    Format
    In person
    Location
    Winston-Salem, North Carolina
    Stipend or pay
    Unconfirmed — check official site

    Eligibility: Grades 10–12 (provider uses rising grades)

    Ages 15–18; Be age 15 or a rising high-school sophomore through age 18 or high-school senior

    Housing: Residential. Supervision and housing details: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Selection: Auditioned, rolling admission capped at 75; seats were filled in completed-application/audition and payment order, and both 2026 tracks reached a waiting list. No acceptance rate is published.

    Financial aid: Unconfirmed — check official site
    All requirements, expenses and sources

    Expenses and aid conditions: Last year's cycle (2026): 2026 application fee: $50. Nonrefundable in the standard application; waived for 2026 waiting-list audition submissions.; 2026 residential room and board: $1,633. Residential total was USD 4,116 including the application fee; commuters paid USD 2,483.; Deposit after acceptance: $200. Nonrefundable and credited toward the total; without it the student was waitlisted.; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Full eligibility requirements: Ages 15–18; Requirement: Be age 15 or a rising high-school sophomore through age 18 or high-school senior; Requirement: Submit the track-specific video audition and artistic resume; Requirement: Show passion and persistence for serious conservatory actor training; prior experience is not required; Requirement: Meet rolling admission and payment requirements before the track and housing fill; Exclusion: Students living within 25 miles of UNCSA must use the commuter option under the 2026 policy; Exclusion: Acting and Musical Theatre use different audition materials; Exclusion: Admission and a deposit are required before registration; a completed audition does not guarantee a seat

    Selection and application: Selection: Auditioned, rolling admission capped at 75; seats were filled in completed-application/audition and payment order, and both 2026 tracks reached a waiting list. No acceptance rate is published.

    Last source check . Official source

  • Wake Forest University Summer Immersion Program

    Wake Forest Summer Immersion: Business Institute

    A Sunday–Friday residential business experience at Wake Forest for current grades 9–12. Summer 2027 applications open November 1, 2026; exact session dates will be released that day.

    Application deadline
    Unconfirmed — check official site
    Cost
    Last year's cycle (2026): $3,500; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site
    Session dates or duration
    Catalog terms: 1 week; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site
    Format
    In person
    Location
    Winston-Salem, North Carolina
    Stipend or pay
    Unconfirmed — check official site

    Eligibility: Grades 9–12; Grade timing: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Housing: Residential. Supervision and housing details: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Financial aid: Unconfirmed — check official site
    All requirements, expenses and sources

    Expenses and aid conditions: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Full eligibility requirements: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Selection and application: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Last source check . Official source

Summer 2027 hub · Selective vs. pay-to-play guide · Application guide

How to check costs, eligibility and dates

Check local residence restrictions and whether the location is a commuter site, a residential campus or one part of a hybrid program. Budget for travel and housing separately.

Missing facts say Unconfirmed — check official site. A past session does not establish 2027 availability. Format and location can change between cycles.

Frequently asked questions

Are these programs confirmed for summer 2027?

These are existing catalog programs to research for 2027. Inclusion does not confirm a 2027 session or open applications. The cycle label matters: a 2027-cycle application deadline can fall in 2026. Dates explicitly labeled as the 2026 cycle are historical; missing next-cycle details remain unconfirmed.

How should I compare program costs and formats?

Compare tuition, application fees, housing, meals and travel, then check whether attendance is online, on campus or hybrid. A free tuition offer may leave other expenses. Unknown fields say Unconfirmed — check official site.

Can a program pay to appear first?

No paid placements. Listings are ranked by fit, never by payment. Here, fit means matching the filters you choose. Matching listings default to name order; you can sort by recorded deadline or latest source check. Use the methodology page to understand catalog standards.

How do I save a program?

Open its catalog listing and sign in to save it to your plan. You can browse these pages and official program links without signing in.