Summer 2027 For high school students

Summer 2027 programs in Michigan for high school students

Explore summer leads with a source-supported Michigan location. Location identifies where a program meets; it does not establish who is eligible to attend.

Planning for 2027. Check the year on dates and prices, then confirm the current application window on the official site.

No paid placements. Listings are ranked by fit, never by payment. Methodology.

Showing 1 to 8 of 8 matching programs. Ordered by name.

Share or print this list

Compare 2 of 3 programs

Clear comparison

Catalog facts retain their cycle. Check the official sources before applying or paying. On a phone, scroll the table sideways.

Selected programs, application facts and official sources
Program factsSMASH ResidentialRemoveMSU High School Engineering Institute (HSEI)Remove
Application deadlineUnconfirmed — check official siteUnconfirmed — check official site
CostCatalog terms: Free attendance; check separate expenses; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official siteUnconfirmed — check official site
Financial aidUnconfirmed — check official siteUnconfirmed — check official site
Expenses and aid conditionsCatalog terms: Residential university housing: $0. Scholars live in campus dormitories as part of the 100%-free residential program.; Residential-session meals: $0. The organizer describes scholars eating in the dining hall within the 100%-free experience.; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official siteUnconfirmed — check official site
Stipend or payUnconfirmed — check official siteUnconfirmed — check official site
EligibilityGrades 10–11 when applying; summer rising grade is one higherGrades 10–12 and first-year college; Grade timing: Unconfirmed — check official site
Additional eligibilityResidency: Preference for students at target schools or living within the published radius of Atlanta, Boston, Detroit/Ann Arbor, or Bay Area sites; Requirement: Minimum 3.0 GPA or equivalent; Requirement: Be in grade 10 or 11 when applying; Requirement: Demonstrate strong grade-level mathematics skills through state-standardized scores; Requirement: Attend a public high school or a private high school through scholarship; Requirement: Show strong interest in a computer-science degree or certification and a CS career; Requirement: Meet site-specific gender eligibility: male for Morehouse and female for Spelman; Exclusion: Applicants who do not meet every published requirement; SMASH states that there are no eligibility exceptionsResidency: U.S. and international students accepted; Requirement: Be entering grade 10, 11 or 12, or be a recent high-school graduate; Requirement: Have approximately a 3.0 or better in math, science and technology courses; Requirement: Submit a preferably full-year transcript; Requirement: Be seriously considering engineering; Requirement: Complete Spartan Youth Program enrollment, health and consent requirements; Requirement: Attend the full residential session; Exclusion: 2026 sessions are complete and were full; Exclusion: 2027 details are not announced; Exclusion: This is not a research internship or credit-bearing course; Exclusion: International travel/visa arrangements are not stated as funded
Session dates or durationCatalog terms: 3 weeks; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official siteCatalog terms: 1 week; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site
FormatIn personIn person
Housing and supervisionResidential. Supervision and housing details: Unconfirmed — check official siteResidential. Supervision and housing details: Unconfirmed — check official site
LocationAtlanta, Berkeley, Boston, Ann Arbor, Georgia, California, Massachusetts, MichiganEast Lansing, Michigan
Selection and applicationSelection: Applicants must satisfy all published requirements, and geographic preferences apply; the current pages do not publish applicant counts or an acceptance rate.Selection: All 2026 sessions filled. Admission used grade/GPA guidance and a transcript, but MSU publishes no applicant count, acceptance rate or detailed selection rubric.
Official sourcesSource 1 · checked 2026-08-21Source 2 · checked 2026-08-21Source 3 · checked 2026-08-21Source 1 · checked 2026-08-21Source 2 · checked 2026-08-21

Catalog programs to compare

  • College for Creative Studies

    CCS Precollege Summer Experience

    Three-week Detroit studio intensive where high school artists choose one concentration, build portfolio work, and earn three college credits.

    Application deadline
    Unconfirmed — check official site
    Cost
    Last year's cycle (2026): $3,645–$3,995; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site
    Session dates or duration
    Catalog terms: 2.86–3 weeks; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site
    Format
    In person
    Location
    Detroit, Michigan
    Stipend or pay
    Unconfirmed — check official site

    Eligibility: Grades 9–12; Grade timing: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Open to high school students from the United States and internationally; Residents must follow residence-hall rules, conduct standards, and curfew

    Housing: Residential. Supervision and housing details: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Selection: Standard paid registration appears capacity-based by studio concentration, with seat counts and waitlists shown in the registration system. Separate merit/need and sponsored fellowship scholarships are competitively awarded; CCS does not publish a universal PCSE acceptance rate.

    Financial aid:
    Read aid terms and conditions

    Last year's cycle (2026): PCSE full or partial merit/need grant: Amount: Unconfirmed — check official site. Available for 2026 through a separate application due March 31; award amounts varied and the deadline has passed.; PCSE-to-CCS undergraduate scholarship: $4,000. Eligible completers receive $1,000 per year for up to four years after admission and full-time enrollment at CCS, subject to satisfactory academic progress.; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site

    All requirements, expenses and sources

    Expenses and aid conditions: Last year's cycle (2026): Minimum seat-reservation deposit: $300. The deposit was the minimum payment toward tuition, not an additional fee.; PCSE full or partial merit/need grant: Amount: Unconfirmed — check official site. Available for 2026 through a separate application due March 31; award amounts varied and the deadline has passed.; PCSE-to-CCS undergraduate scholarship: $4,000. Eligible completers receive $1,000 per year for up to four years after admission and full-time enrollment at CCS, subject to satisfactory academic progress.; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Full eligibility requirements: Residency: Open to high school students from the United States and internationally; Requirement: Be enrolled in high school; Requirement: Choose one available studio concentration; Requirement: Be prepared for intensive college-level studio work; Requirement: Residents must follow residence-hall rules, conduct standards, and curfew; Requirement: International students needing a visa must coordinate with CCS International Student Services; Exclusion: No public age cutoff is stated; Exclusion: Specific concentrations may fill or move to a waitlist; Exclusion: A portfolio is not stated as a universal admission requirement for standard paid registration

    Selection and application: Selection: Standard paid registration appears capacity-based by studio concentration, with seat counts and waitlists shown in the registration system. Separate merit/need and sponsored fellowship scholarships are competitively awarded; CCS does not publish a universal PCSE acceptance rate.

    Last source check . Official source

  • LaunchX LLC

    LaunchX In-Person Flagship Entrepreneurship Summer Program

    LaunchX’s four-week in-person flagship entrepreneurship programme for high-school students ages 14–18 in Ann Arbor; June 27–July 24, 2027, with USD 13,495 tuition and separate application fees.

    Application deadline
    November 11, 2026 (2027 cycle)
    Cost
    $13,495 (2027 cycle)
    Session dates or duration
    Starts June 27, 2027; Ends July 24, 2027; 4 weeks (2027 cycle)
    Format
    In person
    Location
    Ann Arbor, Michigan
    Stipend or pay
    Unconfirmed — check official site

    Eligibility: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Ages 14–18; Be a high-school student age 14-18 for flagship programs

    Housing: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Selection: LaunchX reports approximately a 30% acceptance rate for flagship programs; current cohort-specific applicant counts and criteria are not fully published.

    Financial aid: Unconfirmed — check official site
    All requirements, expenses and sources

    Expenses and aid conditions: 2027 application fee by round: $50–$100. Published 2027 programme-specific amount; additional expenses and financial awards require confirmation. (2027 cycle)

    Full eligibility requirements: Ages 14–18; Requirement: Be a high-school student age 14-18 for flagship programs; Requirement: Complete the LaunchX application and current selection process; Requirement: Be prepared for the selected in-person or online team-based entrepreneurship programme; Requirement: Meet travel, insurance, consent, payment, and housing requirements; Exclusion: The program is not currently hosted by or operated by MIT; Exclusion: Online Startup Experience age rules do not define the in-person flagship; Exclusion: Financial awards, acceptance, team success, revenue, or venture continuation are not guaranteed; Exclusion: 2026 dates, location, and price do not establish the 2027 cycle

    Selection and application: Selection: LaunchX reports approximately a 30% acceptance rate for flagship programs; current cohort-specific applicant counts and criteria are not fully published.

    Last source check . Official source

  • University of Michigan Ross School of Business

    Michigan Ross Summer Business Academy

    Residential 11-day business academy for rising seniors with 3.0+ GPA; 2026 tuition was $5,500 plus a $75 application fee, and 2027 details are unannounced.

    Application deadline
    Unconfirmed — check official site
    Cost
    Last year's cycle (2026): $5,500; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site
    Session dates or duration
    Catalog terms: 1.57 weeks; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site
    Format
    In person
    Location
    Ann Arbor, Michigan
    Stipend or pay
    Unconfirmed — check official site

    Eligibility: Grade 11; Grade timing: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Preference to U.S. citizens, U.S. permanent residents, and Canadian residents; other international applicants considered if space remained under 2026 rules; Be available for the entire assigned residential session, including weekends

    Housing: Residential. Supervision and housing details: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Selection: Holistic admission for two 2026 cohorts described inconsistently as 70 or up to 72 students per session; no applicant count or acceptance rate is published.

    Financial aid:
    Read aid terms and conditions

    Last year's cycle (2026): SBA need-based scholarship: Amount: Unconfirmed — check official site. Full and partial awards for accepted students based on household financial need and a scholarship essay; not guaranteed.; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site

    All requirements, expenses and sources

    Expenses and aid conditions: Last year's cycle (2026): 2026 SBA application fee: $75. Nonrefundable; applicants unable to pay could request a waiver by email.; SBA need-based scholarship: Amount: Unconfirmed — check official site. Full and partial awards for accepted students based on household financial need and a scholarship essay; not guaranteed.; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Full eligibility requirements: Residency: Preference to U.S. citizens, U.S. permanent residents, and Canadian residents; other international applicants considered if space remained under 2026 rules; Requirement: Be a rising 12th-grade student at the time of the program; Requirement: Have at least a 3.0 cumulative GPA under 2026 rules; Requirement: Be available for the entire assigned residential session, including weekends; Requirement: Complete rigorous college-level classes, workshops, collaborative work, and all scheduled program components; Requirement: International students must independently have an appropriate way to enter/study because U-M does not sponsor SBA visas; Exclusion: Current seniors who have already graduated are not described as eligible; the target is rising seniors; Exclusion: Participation does not award college credit or influence Ross BBA admission; Exclusion: Meeting the 3.0 GPA threshold does not guarantee admission or scholarship; Exclusion: Session assignment/change, cohort size, and 2027 international priority are not yet confirmed

    Selection and application: Selection: Holistic admission for two 2026 cohorts described inconsistently as 70 or up to 72 students per session; no applicant count or acceptance rate is published. Application materials: Two essays of 300 words or fewer without generative-AI assistance; One teacher recommendation form submitted through the portal; no separate letter required; Household-income and affordability questions plus scholarship essay if requesting aid

    Last source check . Official source

  • Michigan Interscholastic Press Association at Michigan State University

    MIPA Summer Journalism Workshop

    Five-day residential Michigan State journalism workshop for students entering grades 7-12, with one intensive course in writing, design, photo, broadcast, digital media or leadership.

    Application deadline
    Unconfirmed — check official site
    Cost
    Unconfirmed — check official site
    Session dates or duration
    Catalog terms: 1 week; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site
    Format
    In person
    Location
    East Lansing, Michigan
    Stipend or pay
    Unconfirmed — check official site

    Eligibility: Grades 7–12; Grade timing: Unconfirmed — check official site

    No geographic restriction stated; attendance is residential at Michigan State University; Choose only one workshop course; Meet any published course-specific experience requirement for an advanced track; Submit participant/parent permission forms before check-in

    Housing: Residential. Supervision and housing details: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Selection: Registration is first-available by course capacity. Advanced tracks have skill prerequisites, but MIPA publishes no academic acceptance rate or selective admissions review.

    Financial aid:
    Read aid terms and conditions

    Last year's cycle (2026): Workshop scholarships and fundraising: Amount: Unconfirmed — check official site. Multiple scholarships, free SponsorMe crowdfunding and certain adviser/program grants were available; award amounts were not stated.; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site

    All requirements, expenses and sources

    Expenses and aid conditions: Last year's cycle (2026): Historical registration deposit: $75. Nonrefundable amount applied to the total fee when the full balance was not paid at registration.; Historical scholarship-applicant deposit: $25. Replaced the $75 deposit, refundable after a full scholarship or timely cancellation, and could be waived for financial need.; Historical late-registration surcharge: $75. Applied after June 15, 2026.; Workshop scholarships and fundraising: Amount: Unconfirmed — check official site. Multiple scholarships, free SponsorMe crowdfunding and certain adviser/program grants were available; award amounts were not stated.; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Full eligibility requirements: Residency: No geographic restriction stated; attendance is residential at Michigan State University; Requirement: Enter grade 7 through 12 in the fall after the workshop; Requirement: Choose only one workshop course; Requirement: Meet any published course-specific experience requirement for an advanced track; Requirement: Submit participant/parent permission forms before check-in; Requirement: Pay the required fee or complete scholarship/payment arrangements; Exclusion: Advanced writing, design, photo and leadership courses are not beginner tracks; Exclusion: Course space may fill before the final registration date; Exclusion: MIPA membership changes price but is not required for participation

    Selection and application: Selection: Registration is first-available by course capacity. Advanced tracks have skill prerequisites, but MIPA publishes no academic acceptance rate or selective admissions review.

    Last source check . Official source

  • University of Michigan School of Music, Theatre & Dance

    MPulse Musical Theatre Workshop

    Selective three-week residential musical-theatre intensive for high-school juniors and exceptional sophomores; the 2026 workshop cost $5,990 including room and board and is closed.

    Application deadline
    Unconfirmed — check official site
    Cost
    Last year's cycle (2026): $5,990; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site
    Session dates or duration
    Catalog terms: 3 weeks; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site
    Format
    In person
    Location
    Ann Arbor, Michigan
    Stipend or pay
    Unconfirmed — check official site

    Eligibility: Grades 10–11 when applying; summer rising grade is one higher

    Applicants from around the world are welcomed by MPulse; individual travel and entry-document obligations apply; Be able to participate in the required residential program

    Housing: Residential. Supervision and housing details: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Selection: Selective faculty review based on training and experience, academic transcript, recommendation and a multi-part artistic audition.

    Financial aid:
    Read aid terms and conditions

    Last year's cycle (2026): Limited merit and need-informed MPulse scholarships: Amount: Unconfirmed — check official site. Merit consideration was automatic by the priority deadline. Need-informed applicants generally needed prior-year AGI at or below $125,000 or special circumstances and supporting financial documents.; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site

    All requirements, expenses and sources

    Expenses and aid conditions: Last year's cycle (2026): 2026 nonrefundable application fee: $75. Qualified applicants could request an Acceptd fee-waiver code.; Limited merit and need-informed MPulse scholarships: Amount: Unconfirmed — check official site. Merit consideration was automatic by the priority deadline. Need-informed applicants generally needed prior-year AGI at or below $125,000 or special circumstances and supporting financial documents.; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Full eligibility requirements: Residency: Applicants from around the world are welcomed by MPulse; individual travel and entry-document obligations apply; Requirement: Be a current high-school junior, or an exceptional sophomore with substantial ability and experience; Requirement: Maintain at least a B average; Requirement: Submit a complete artistic and academic application; Requirement: Demonstrate preparation through voice and acting audition videos; Requirement: Be able to participate in the required residential program; Exclusion: Ordinary sophomore applications are not promised consideration; Exclusion: Admission is selective and is not guaranteed by meeting the minimum GPA; Exclusion: Participation does not confer University of Michigan admission or academic credit; Exclusion: Minor participants are required to live in program housing

    Selection and application: Selection: Selective faculty review based on training and experience, academic transcript, recommendation and a multi-part artistic audition. Application materials: Spoken personal-statement video no longer than two minutes; One required artistic, academic or other non-relative recommendation; Optional second recommendation and optional performance or dance materials

    Last source check . Official source

  • Michigan State University College of Engineering

    MSU High School Engineering Institute (HSEI)

    Five-day residential MSU exploration of engineering majors for rising grades 10-12 and recent graduates; all 2026 sessions ended and 2027 is unannounced.

    Application deadline
    Unconfirmed — check official site
    Cost
    Unconfirmed — check official site
    Session dates or duration
    Catalog terms: 1 week; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site
    Format
    In person
    Location
    East Lansing, Michigan
    Stipend or pay
    Unconfirmed — check official site

    Eligibility: Grades 10–12 and first-year college; Grade timing: Unconfirmed — check official site

    U.S. and international students accepted; Attend the full residential session

    Housing: Residential. Supervision and housing details: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Selection: All 2026 sessions filled. Admission used grade/GPA guidance and a transcript, but MSU publishes no applicant count, acceptance rate or detailed selection rubric.

    Financial aid: Unconfirmed — check official site
    All requirements, expenses and sources

    Expenses and aid conditions: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Full eligibility requirements: Residency: U.S. and international students accepted; Requirement: Be entering grade 10, 11 or 12, or be a recent high-school graduate; Requirement: Have approximately a 3.0 or better in math, science and technology courses; Requirement: Submit a preferably full-year transcript; Requirement: Be seriously considering engineering; Requirement: Complete Spartan Youth Program enrollment, health and consent requirements; Requirement: Attend the full residential session; Exclusion: 2026 sessions are complete and were full; Exclusion: 2027 details are not announced; Exclusion: This is not a research internship or credit-bearing course; Exclusion: International travel/visa arrangements are not stated as funded

    Selection and application: Selection: All 2026 sessions filled. Admission used grade/GPA guidance and a transcript, but MSU publishes no applicant count, acceptance rate or detailed selection rubric.

    Last source check . Official source

  • Oakland University Department of Philosophy

    Oakland University Philosophy Camp

    Five-day residential philosophy camp for high-school students featuring professor-led discussion, critical reasoning, campus activities, and an annual theme.

    Application deadline
    Unconfirmed — check official site
    Cost
    Last year's cycle (2026): $675; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site
    Session dates or duration
    Catalog terms: 0.71 weeks; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site
    Format
    In person
    Location
    Rochester, Michigan
    Stipend or pay
    Unconfirmed — check official site

    Eligibility: Grades 9–12; Grade timing: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Ages 13–18

    Housing: Residential. Supervision and housing details: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Selection: All campers require preapproval based on age, schooling, maturity, cooperation, and curiosity. Oakland does not publish capacity, applicant volume, acceptance rate, or scholarship selection rate.

    Financial aid:
    Read aid terms and conditions

    Last year's cycle (2026): Need-based scholarship: Up to $675. Available for students and families for whom the fee was a hardship; award amount and next-cycle availability are not stated.; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site

    All requirements, expenses and sources

    Expenses and aid conditions: Last year's cycle (2026): Need-based scholarship: Up to $675. Available for students and families for whom the fee was a hardship; award amount and next-cycle availability are not stated.; Early-bird, employee, or multiple-child discount: $50. The registration record confirms a $50 early discount; eligibility and stacking rules for other discounts are not stated. Historical early dates conflict across official pages, so no deadline is retained.; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Full eligibility requirements: Ages 13–18; Requirement: Be studying or home-schooling at high-school level, including students entering or just finishing high school; Requirement: Be ages 13-18 under the 2026 registration criteria; Requirement: Receive preapproval before paid registration; Requirement: Show curiosity and willingness to engage with the philosophical theme; Requirement: Demonstrate maturity, cooperation, and ability to live appropriately on a college campus; Exclusion: The camp is overnight-only; no day or virtual option is advertised; Exclusion: Preapproval is required before registration; Exclusion: The official general camp directory summarizes eligibility as grades 9-12, while the detailed form also allows entering and just-graduated high-school students ages 13-18

    Selection and application: Selection: All campers require preapproval based on age, schooling, maturity, cooperation, and curiosity. Oakland does not publish capacity, applicant volume, acceptance rate, or scholarship selection rate.

    Last source check . Official source

  • SMASH

    SMASH Residential

    Free one-year STEM and computer-science program for qualifying grade 10-11 applicants, anchored by a residential summer at a partner university.

    Application deadline
    Unconfirmed — check official site
    Cost
    Catalog terms: Free attendance; check separate expenses; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site
    Session dates or duration
    Catalog terms: 3 weeks; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site
    Format
    In person
    Location
    Atlanta, Berkeley, Boston, Ann Arbor, Georgia, California, Massachusetts, Michigan
    Stipend or pay
    Unconfirmed — check official site

    Eligibility: Grades 10–11 when applying; summer rising grade is one higher

    Preference for students at target schools or living within the published radius of Atlanta, Boston, Detroit/Ann Arbor, or Bay Area sites

    Housing: Residential. Supervision and housing details: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Selection: Applicants must satisfy all published requirements, and geographic preferences apply; the current pages do not publish applicant counts or an acceptance rate.

    Financial aid: Unconfirmed — check official site
    All requirements, expenses and sources

    Expenses and aid conditions: Catalog terms: Residential university housing: $0. Scholars live in campus dormitories as part of the 100%-free residential program.; Residential-session meals: $0. The organizer describes scholars eating in the dining hall within the 100%-free experience.; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site

    Full eligibility requirements: Residency: Preference for students at target schools or living within the published radius of Atlanta, Boston, Detroit/Ann Arbor, or Bay Area sites; Requirement: Minimum 3.0 GPA or equivalent; Requirement: Be in grade 10 or 11 when applying; Requirement: Demonstrate strong grade-level mathematics skills through state-standardized scores; Requirement: Attend a public high school or a private high school through scholarship; Requirement: Show strong interest in a computer-science degree or certification and a CS career; Requirement: Meet site-specific gender eligibility: male for Morehouse and female for Spelman; Exclusion: Applicants who do not meet every published requirement; SMASH states that there are no eligibility exceptions

    Selection and application: Selection: Applicants must satisfy all published requirements, and geographic preferences apply; the current pages do not publish applicant counts or an acceptance rate.

    Last source check . Official source

Summer 2027 hub · Selective vs. pay-to-play guide · Application guide

Recorded application dates · check the cycle
How to check costs, eligibility and dates

Check local residence restrictions and whether the location is a commuter site, a residential campus or one part of a hybrid program. Budget for travel and housing separately.

Missing facts say Unconfirmed — check official site. A past session does not establish 2027 availability. Format and location can change between cycles.

Frequently asked questions

Are these programs confirmed for summer 2027?

These are existing catalog programs to research for 2027. Inclusion does not confirm a 2027 session or open applications. The cycle label matters: a 2027-cycle application deadline can fall in 2026. Dates explicitly labeled as the 2026 cycle are historical; missing next-cycle details remain unconfirmed.

How should I compare program costs and formats?

Compare tuition, application fees, housing, meals and travel, then check whether attendance is online, on campus or hybrid. A free tuition offer may leave other expenses. Unknown fields say Unconfirmed — check official site.

Can a program pay to appear first?

No paid placements. Listings are ranked by fit, never by payment. Here, fit means matching the filters you choose. Matching listings default to name order; you can sort by recorded deadline or latest source check. Use the methodology page to understand catalog standards.

How do I save a program?

Open its catalog listing and sign in to save it to your plan. You can browse these pages and official program links without signing in.