Summer 2027 research programs for high school students
Start with the research question and the work you would do. A university name alone does not tell you whether you will join a lab, take a class or meet a mentor online.
Planning for 2027. Check the year on dates and prices, then confirm the current application window on the official site.
No paid placements. Listings are ranked by fit, never by payment. Methodology.
Showing 13 to 24 of 79 matching programs. Ordered by name.
Last year's cycle (2026): $1,599–$6,049; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site
Financial aid
Unconfirmed — check official site
Unconfirmed — check official site
Expenses and aid conditions
Unconfirmed — check official site
Last year's cycle (2026): 2026 application fee: $250. Nonrefundable. Verify whether it is credited toward tuition in a future cycle.; Optional 2026 linen rental: $75. Residents could bring linens instead; optional fan rental was $25.; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site
Stipend or pay
Catalog terms: Weekly salary: $500; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site
Unconfirmed — check official site
Eligibility
Unconfirmed — check official site
Grades 7–12 when applying; check the provider's rules for graduating seniors
Additional eligibility
Citizenship: U.S. citizen; Residency: Enrolled at an Illinois high school; Requirement: Senior in 2027–28 or 2027 graduate; proof of insurance
Residency: Students from the United States and abroad may attend; travel and immigration requirements vary; Requirement: For online workshops, be entering grade 7-12 in the fall; Requirement: For in-person workshops, be currently enrolled in high school or entering grade 9; Requirement: Choose a division matched to experience level and session availability; Requirement: For advanced Congress, submit additional competitive work and experience evidence; Requirement: Bring a laptop for research and workshop work; Requirement: Meet current health, vaccination, conduct, housing and minor-supervision rules for in-person attendance; Exclusion: In-person programs are not open to students below entering grade 9; Exclusion: Some advanced tracks require established competition experience and separate review
Session dates or duration
Starts July 12, 2027; Ends August 6, 2027; 4 weeks (2027 cycle)
Catalog terms: 2–4 weeks; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site
Format
Unconfirmed — check official site
In person / Online
Housing and supervision
Unconfirmed — check official site
Residential. Supervision and housing details: Unconfirmed — check official site
Location
Unconfirmed — check official site
Cambridge, Harvard-Radcliffe Quad in Massachusetts and live online workshops
Selection and application
Unconfirmed — check official site
Selection: Most divisions used automatic first-come, first-served admission after a complete application until full. Advanced tracks such as Congress required additional review.
Garcia is an in-person materials and polymer research program at Stony Brook University. The official pages describe the completed June 24–August 7, 2026 session; no 2027 dates, application deadline or updated terms are established. Students could commute or arrange optional housing.
Application deadline
Unconfirmed — check official site
Cost
Unconfirmed — check official site
Session dates or duration
Unconfirmed — check official site
Format
Unconfirmed — check official site
Location
Unconfirmed — check official site
Stipend or pay
Unconfirmed — check official site
Eligibility: Unconfirmed — check official site
Housing: Unconfirmed — check official site
Financial aid: Unconfirmed — check official site
All requirements, expenses and sources
Expenses and aid conditions: Unconfirmed — check official site
Full eligibility requirements: Unconfirmed — check official site
Selection and application: Unconfirmed — check official site
Intensive in-person seven-week research program at Stony Brook; Summer 2026 is closed, and no official 2027 application deadline has been announced.
Application deadline
Unconfirmed — check official site
Cost
Unconfirmed — check official site
Session dates or duration
Catalog terms: 7 weeks; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site
Format
In person
Location
Stony Brook, New York
Stipend or pay
Unconfirmed — check official site
Eligibility: Unconfirmed — check official site
Minimum age 16; Must be able to legally reside in the United States for the entire program; Garcia provides no visa aid or support letters; Have taken at least three of English, chemistry, mathematics/calculus, physics, and biology
Housing: Non-residential. Supervision and housing details: Unconfirmed — check official site
Selection: Non-rolling review after the deadline using demanding age, GPA, test, coursework, transcript, recommendation, leadership, and application criteria.
Financial aid: Unconfirmed — check official site
All requirements, expenses and sources
Expenses and aid conditions: Unconfirmed — check official site
Full eligibility requirements: Minimum age 16; Residency: Must be able to legally reside in the United States for the entire program; Garcia provides no visa aid or support letters; Requirement: For 2026, be at least 16 by July 4 with no exception; Requirement: For 2026, have an unweighted GPA of at least 95/100 or 3.8/4.0; Requirement: For 2026, have specified standardized scores at or above the 60th percentile; Requirement: Have taken at least three of English, chemistry, mathematics/calculus, physics, and biology; Requirement: Be ready for intensive in-person laboratory work and safety requirements; Exclusion: Applicants under the laboratory minimum age are not eligible; Exclusion: The program cannot support visa applications or provide visa letters; Exclusion: The 2026 cycle is closed and 2027 rules may change; Exclusion: Participation requires commuting or arranging optional local housing; Garcia offers no airport transportation
Selection and application: Selection: Non-rolling review after the deadline using demanding age, GPA, test, coursework, transcript, recommendation, leadership, and application criteria.
Boston University LERNet research program. Its saved 2026 page describes six-week lab placements and a completion stipend of up to $2,000; future-cycle dates, eligibility and financial terms are not established.
Application deadline
Unconfirmed — check official site
Cost
Unconfirmed — check official site
Session dates or duration
Unconfirmed — check official site
Format
Unconfirmed — check official site
Location
Unconfirmed — check official site
Stipend or pay
Unconfirmed — check official site
Eligibility: Unconfirmed — check official site
Housing: Unconfirmed — check official site
Financial aid: Unconfirmed — check official site
All requirements, expenses and sources
Expenses and aid conditions: Unconfirmed — check official site
Full eligibility requirements: Unconfirmed — check official site
Selection and application: Unconfirmed — check official site
Paid two- or four-week online, commuter and residential debate/speech workshops for entering grades 7-12, run by Harvard College's independent Debate Council.
Application deadline
Unconfirmed — check official site
Cost
Last year's cycle (2026): $1,599–$6,049; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site
Session dates or duration
Catalog terms: 2–4 weeks; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site
Format
In person / Online
Location
Cambridge, Harvard-Radcliffe Quad in Massachusetts and live online workshops
Stipend or pay
Unconfirmed — check official site
Eligibility: Grades 7–12 when applying; check the provider's rules for graduating seniors
Students from the United States and abroad may attend; travel and immigration requirements vary
Housing: Residential. Supervision and housing details: Unconfirmed — check official site
Selection: Most divisions used automatic first-come, first-served admission after a complete application until full. Advanced tracks such as Congress required additional review.
Financial aid: Unconfirmed — check official site
All requirements, expenses and sources
Expenses and aid conditions: Last year's cycle (2026): 2026 application fee: $250. Nonrefundable. Verify whether it is credited toward tuition in a future cycle.; Optional 2026 linen rental: $75. Residents could bring linens instead; optional fan rental was $25.; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site
Full eligibility requirements: Residency: Students from the United States and abroad may attend; travel and immigration requirements vary; Requirement: For online workshops, be entering grade 7-12 in the fall; Requirement: For in-person workshops, be currently enrolled in high school or entering grade 9; Requirement: Choose a division matched to experience level and session availability; Requirement: For advanced Congress, submit additional competitive work and experience evidence; Requirement: Bring a laptop for research and workshop work; Requirement: Meet current health, vaccination, conduct, housing and minor-supervision rules for in-person attendance; Exclusion: In-person programs are not open to students below entering grade 9; Exclusion: Some advanced tracks require established competition experience and separate review
Selection and application: Selection: Most divisions used automatic first-come, first-served admission after a complete application until full. Advanced tracks such as Congress required additional review.
Former NIH high-school enrichment program whose official page now redirects to SIP; NIH publishes no current HiSTEP-specific status or 2027 application.
Application deadline
Unconfirmed — check official site
Cost
Unconfirmed — check official site
Session dates or duration
Unconfirmed — check official site
Format
In person
Location
Unconfirmed — check official site
Stipend or pay
Unconfirmed — check official site
Eligibility: Unconfirmed — check official site
Housing: Unconfirmed — check official site
Selection: Current HiSTEP cohort size, selection process, applicant count, and acceptance rate are not published because no current HiSTEP-specific page was found.
Financial aid: Unconfirmed — check official site
All requirements, expenses and sources
Expenses and aid conditions: Unconfirmed — check official site
Full eligibility requirements: Exclusion: No current HiSTEP eligibility is published; Exclusion: Current general SIP eligibility must not be substituted for HiSTEP eligibility
Selection and application: Selection: Current HiSTEP cohort size, selection process, applicant count, and acceptance rate are not published because no current HiSTEP-specific page was found.
Six-week, full-time summer immersion at Roswell Park in Buffalo for Western New York juniors: lectures, discussions, and hands-on wet- or dry-lab cancer research ending in a poster symposium. No application fee.
Application deadline
January 1, 2027 (2027 cycle)
Cost
Unconfirmed — check official site
Session dates or duration
Catalog terms: 6 weeks; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site
Format
In person
Location
Buffalo, Western New York
Stipend or pay
Unconfirmed — check official site
Eligibility: Grade 11 when applying; summer rising grade is one higher
Minimum age 15; U.S. citizen or permanent resident; Permanent address and school-district enrollment in Erie, Niagara, Cattaraugus or Chautauqua County.; Age 15 by June 27, 2027 under the age clause; main program schedule states June 28 start.; Attend all six weeks, eight hours daily and 40 hours weekly; arrange daily commute.
Housing: Non-residential. Supervision and housing details: Unconfirmed — check official site
Selection: Incomplete or ineligible applications and missing school recommendations are not reviewed. No acceptance rate published.
Financial aid: Unconfirmed — check official site
All requirements, expenses and sources
Expenses and aid conditions: Unconfirmed — check official site
Full eligibility requirements: Minimum age 15; Citizenship: U.S. citizen or permanent resident; Residency: Permanent address and school-district enrollment in Erie, Niagara, Cattaraugus or Chautauqua County.; Requirement: Current junior, graduating class of 2028.; Requirement: Age 15 by June 27, 2027 under the age clause; main program schedule states June 28 start.; Requirement: Attend all six weeks, eight hours daily and 40 hours weekly; arrange daily commute.; Exclusion: No nonlocal enrollment or residence exceptions.; Exclusion: No weekday absences for vacations, college visits or appointments.
Selection and application: Selection: Incomplete or ineligible applications and missing school recommendations are not reviewed. No acceptance rate published. Application materials: Personal statement up to 300 words addressing the three listed questions.; School guidance counselor or registrar contact; required recommendation completed by application deadline.
Six-week residential Mathworks camp for high-school students at Texas State. The 2027 session runs June 20–July 31 and costs $6,600, with need-based scholarships; returning students undertake mentor-led research.
Application deadline
Unconfirmed — check official site
Cost
$6,600 (2027 cycle)
Session dates or duration
Catalog terms: 6 weeks; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site
Format
In person
Location
San Marcos, Texas
Stipend or pay
Unconfirmed — check official site
Eligibility: Unconfirmed — check official site
Housing: Residential. Supervision and housing details: Unconfirmed — check official site
Selection: Rolling admissions until full; current capacity and selection rubric not stated.
Financial aid: Need-based Mathworks scholarship: Amount: Unconfirmed — check official site. Request through financial-needs application section; amount and full coverage are not guaranteed. (2027 cycle)
All requirements, expenses and sources
Expenses and aid conditions: Need-based Mathworks scholarship: Amount: Unconfirmed — check official site. Request through financial-needs application section; amount and full coverage are not guaranteed. (2027 cycle)
Full eligibility requirements: Requirement: Be a high-school student.; Exclusion: No concurrent online courses or other programs during camp.
Selection and application: Selection: Rolling admissions until full; current capacity and selection rubric not stated.
Hurricane Island’s 2027 high-school science courses combine island-based research and leadership in Maine. Ordinary courses cost $1,750; Advanced Ocean Lab costs $2,500, with different grade requirements and dates.
Application deadline
Unconfirmed — check official site
Cost
Catalog terms: $1,750–$2,500; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site
Session dates or duration
Unconfirmed — check official site
Format
In person
Location
Maine
Stipend or pay
Unconfirmed — check official site
Eligibility: Unconfirmed — check official site
Housing: Residential. Supervision and housing details: Unconfirmed — check official site
Financial aid: Unconfirmed — check official site
All requirements, expenses and sources
Expenses and aid conditions: Unconfirmed — check official site
Full eligibility requirements: Requirement: Ordinary high-school courses: entering grades 9–12 in 2027; Requirement: Advanced Ocean Lab: entering grades 10–12 in 2027
Selection and application: Unconfirmed — check official site
Eight-week Johns Hopkins neuroscience research internship centered on Baltimore City high-school students; 2025 delivery is verified, but no public 2026/27 application cycle is confirmed.
Application deadline
Unconfirmed — check official site
Cost
Unconfirmed — check official site
Session dates or duration
Catalog terms: 8 weeks; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site
Format
In person
Location
Baltimore, Johns Hopkins medical and research environment in Baltimore, Maryland
Stipend or pay
Unconfirmed — check official site
Eligibility: Grades 11–12; Grade timing: Unconfirmed — check official site
The most recent first-party evidence centers on Baltimore City high-school students; exact next-cycle residency rules are unannounced
Housing: Non-residential. Supervision and housing details: Unconfirmed — check official site
Selection: The program is small and mentor availability matters. A historical 2023 cycle planned five or six in-person students; no current applicant count, cohort size or acceptance rate is public.
Financial aid: Unconfirmed — check official site
All requirements, expenses and sources
Expenses and aid conditions: Unconfirmed — check official site
Full eligibility requirements: Residency: The most recent first-party evidence centers on Baltimore City high-school students; exact next-cycle residency rules are unannounced; Requirement: Be a high-school junior or senior for the documented program model; Requirement: Have an interest in neuroscience, mental health, science or medicine; Requirement: Be able to commit to the full eight-week in-person schedule if the historical structure continues; Requirement: Meet any current Johns Hopkins onboarding, health and research-compliance requirements if selected; Exclusion: Students should not assume national, Canadian or virtual eligibility until a new official cycle is published; Exclusion: Historical 2023 demographic, nomination and recommendation rules may not be treated as current legal selection criteria
Selection and application: Selection: The program is small and mentor availability matters. A historical 2023 cycle planned five or six in-person students; no current applicant count, cohort size or acceptance rate is public. Application materials: Historical model: two to three recommendations, including one from a math or science teacher
Family of two-week, one-credit pre-college programs offered residentially, as a Baltimore commuter, or online; Summer 2026 is complete and 2027 is unannounced.
Application deadline
Unconfirmed — check official site
Cost
Unconfirmed — check official site
Session dates or duration
Catalog terms: 2 weeks; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site
Format
In person / Online
Location
Baltimore, Maryland, Homewood campus residential or commuter programs and fully online offerings; exact 2027 catalog unannounced
Stipend or pay
Unconfirmed — check official site
Eligibility: Grades 10–12; Grade timing: Unconfirmed — check official site
Meet any course-specific prerequisite shown in the catalog
Housing: Unconfirmed — check official site
Selection: Applicants must meet GPA, grade-completion, document, and course-prerequisite rules; course placement remains capacity-dependent. No general acceptance rate is published.
Financial aid: Read aid terms and conditions
Last year's cycle (2026): 2026 Dean's Fellowship for online Pre-College: Up to $950. Need-based, expected average $500, and available only to students ultimately registered online. No 2027 aid is announced.; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site
All requirements, expenses and sources
Expenses and aid conditions: Last year's cycle (2026): 2026 Pre-College application fee: $85. Historical nonrefundable fee; not confirmed for 2027.; 2026 initial tuition payment: $1,950. Applied toward total tuition and initiated course registration; not an additional fee. Course placement remained subject to availability.; 2026 Dean's Fellowship for online Pre-College: Up to $950. Need-based, expected average $500, and available only to students ultimately registered online. No 2027 aid is announced.; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site
Full eligibility requirements: Requirement: Successfully complete ninth grade before the selected Pre-College Program begins; Requirement: Hold at least a 3.0 cumulative GPA on a 4.0 scale under the latest rule; Requirement: Meet any course-specific prerequisite shown in the catalog; Requirement: Provide required current academic records directly or through the school; Requirement: For international applications, meet applicable English-proficiency, transcript-evaluation, and immigration requirements; Exclusion: Assuming every program is residential, synchronous, research-based, or available in every session and modality; Exclusion: Assuming admission reserves a preferred course before acceptance, initial payment, and completed enrollment; Exclusion: Assuming participation guarantees a recommendation, admission to Johns Hopkins, transferable credit, aid, research placement, or college-application advantage
Selection and application: Selection: Applicants must meet GPA, grade-completion, document, and course-prerequisite rules; course placement remains capacity-dependent. No general acceptance rate is published.
A commuter STEM research programme at Kean University with collaborative faculty-led projects. Applications for 2027 are expected to open in January; dates and prices remain unconfirmed.
Application deadline
Unconfirmed — check official site
Cost
Unconfirmed — check official site
Session dates or duration
Unconfirmed — check official site
Format
Unconfirmed — check official site
Location
Unconfirmed — check official site
Stipend or pay
Unconfirmed — check official site
Eligibility: Unconfirmed — check official site
Housing: Unconfirmed — check official site
Financial aid: Unconfirmed — check official site
All requirements, expenses and sources
Expenses and aid conditions: Unconfirmed — check official site
Full eligibility requirements: Requirement: Historical 2026 applicants were high-school sophomores, juniors and seniors in classes 2026–2028; no new 2027 class eligibility is established.; Requirement: Housing and transportation are not provided.
Selection and application: Application materials: Historical 2026 application included a letter of interest, mathematics/science teacher recommendation and transcript; confirm the 2027 form and financial-assistance conditions.
Paid eight-week Rochester-area internship where rising seniors conduct up to 35 hours weekly of supervised laser, plasma, materials, computing or engineering research.
Application deadline
Unconfirmed — check official site
Cost
Unconfirmed — check official site
Session dates or duration
Catalog terms: 8 weeks; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site
Format
In person
Location
Rochester, Rochester and surrounding area, New York
Stipend or pay
Unconfirmed — check official site
Eligibility: Grade 11; Grade timing: Unconfirmed — check official site
Attend high school in Rochester or the surrounding area
Housing: Non-residential. Supervision and housing details: Unconfirmed — check official site
Selection: Competitive committee review followed by group overview and individual Zoom interview for a subset. LLE does not publish current applicant, cohort or acceptance figures.
Financial aid: Unconfirmed — check official site
All requirements, expenses and sources
Expenses and aid conditions: Unconfirmed — check official site
Full eligibility requirements: Residency: Attend high school in Rochester or the surrounding area; Requirement: Be completing high-school junior year; Requirement: Demonstrate strong science interest and academic aptitude; Requirement: Commit to all eight weeks and the full weekday schedule; Requirement: Be able to work safely in a university laboratory environment; Exclusion: Students outside the Rochester area are not within the stated audience; Exclusion: Current seniors/college students and younger grades are not within the stated 2026 eligibility; Exclusion: Selection and project choice are not guaranteed
Selection and application: Selection: Competitive committee review followed by group overview and individual Zoom interview for a subset. LLE does not publish current applicant, cohort or acceptance figures. Application materials: One recommendation letter; Short essay describing science and technology interest; Zoom programme overview and 30-minute interview if shortlisted
Ask who supervises the work, how often you meet, and what you will produce. Check lab age restrictions and whether transportation or housing is included.
Missing facts say Unconfirmed — check official site. A past session does not establish 2027 availability. Format and location can change between cycles.
Frequently asked questions
Are these programs confirmed for summer 2027?
These are existing catalog programs to research for 2027. Inclusion does not confirm a 2027 session or open applications. The cycle label matters: a 2027-cycle application deadline can fall in 2026. Dates explicitly labeled as the 2026 cycle are historical; missing next-cycle details remain unconfirmed.
How should I compare program costs and formats?
Compare tuition, application fees, housing, meals and travel, then check whether attendance is online, on campus or hybrid. A free tuition offer may leave other expenses. Unknown fields say Unconfirmed — check official site.
Can a program pay to appear first?
No paid placements. Listings are ranked by fit, never by payment. Here, fit means matching the filters you choose. Matching listings default to name order; you can sort by recorded deadline or latest source check. Use the methodology page to understand catalog standards.
How do I save a program?
Open its catalog listing and sign in to save it to your plan. You can browse these pages and official program links without signing in.