| Application deadline | Unconfirmed — check official site | Unconfirmed — check official site | Unconfirmed — check official site |
|---|
| Cost | Last year's cycle (2026): $5,518; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site | Last year's cycle (2026): $3,500; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site | Last year's cycle (2026): $4,615–$7,100; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site |
|---|
| Financial aid | Last year's cycle (2026): 2026 need-based application and program assistance: Up to $5,564. Could assist with the $46 application fee and $5,518 program cost based on family income, family size and available funds; actual award not guaranteed.; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site | Unconfirmed — check official site | Unconfirmed — check official site |
|---|
| Expenses and aid conditions | Last year's cycle (2026): 2026 COSMOS application fee: $46. Nonrefundable; pending fee-waiver review could change when or whether payment was required.; Credit-card transaction fee on program payments: Amount: Unconfirmed — check official site. Approximately 2.5% when paying program costs by credit card; application fee exempt.; 2026 need-based application and program assistance: Up to $5,564. Could assist with the $46 application fee and $5,518 program cost based on family income, family size and available funds; actual award not guaranteed.; Full-financial-aid attendance deposit: $200. Required only for admitted students offered full aid and refunded to the legal guardian after successful completion.; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site | Unconfirmed — check official site | Last year's cycle (2026): Application fee: Amount: Unconfirmed — check official site. The current FAQ confirms the fee is nonrefundable but does not state its amount.; Tuition deposit: Amount: Unconfirmed — check official site. The current FAQ confirms a deposit and historical refund rules but not the amount.; Required international health insurance: Amount: Unconfirmed — check official site. Required for international scholars; current price is not stated.; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site |
|---|
| Stipend or pay | Unconfirmed — check official site | Unconfirmed — check official site | Unconfirmed — check official site |
|---|
| Eligibility | Grades 9–12 (provider uses rising grades) | Grades 9–12; Grade timing: Unconfirmed — check official site | Grades 6–9; Grade timing: Unconfirmed — check official site |
|---|
| Additional eligibility | Residency: Attend high school in person in California; Requirement: Be rising into grade 9, 10, 11 or 12 for the program fall year; Requirement: Attend high school in person in California; Requirement: Demonstrate academic excellence and preparation for the selected STEM cluster; Requirement: Complete cluster-specific course prerequisites; Requirement: Live on the host UC campus for the full program; Requirement: Be a first-time COSMOS participant; Exclusion: Students not attending a California high school in person; Exclusion: Students who previously attended any COSMOS program; Exclusion: Applicants outside the rising-grade 9-12 range; Exclusion: Applicants unable to live on campus for the full program; Exclusion: Late application, supporting, payment or admission materials; Exclusion: Assuming a 3.5 GPA is an absolute statewide minimum rather than the published typical profile | Ages 14–18; Requirement: Be age 14-18 under the published 2026 youth-camp rule; Requirement: Be available for both weeks and the daily 10:00 a.m.-3:30 p.m. schedule; Requirement: Complete the youth-camp application and registration requirements; Requirement: Follow shop-safety, enrollment, attendance, and no-weapons policies; Exclusion: The 2026 session is over and out of stock; Exclusion: Weapons, including knives, daggers, swords, and axes, may not be fabricated in class; Exclusion: The grade range is inferred from the youth age band; age 14-18 is the controlling published rule; Exclusion: 2027 eligibility is not yet confirmed | Residency: Students from the United States and other countries; Requirement: Be entering grade 6, 7, 8, or 9 after the summer; Requirement: Attend the full three-week program; Requirement: Upload a recent grade report and teacher comments; Requirement: Have English proficiency sufficient for discussion-centered classes; Requirement: Provide a local guardian able to assume responsibility within four hours in an emergency; Requirement: Bring a laptop and basic school supplies; Exclusion: Students entering grades 10-12 are not in the published eligibility range; Exclusion: International scholars generally need a Vericant Spoken English Evaluation score of at least 4.0 unless waived; Exclusion: International scholars must purchase the school health-insurance plan; Exclusion: Lawrenceville does not provide visa assistance or arrival/departure transportation |
|---|
| Session dates or duration | Catalog terms: 4 weeks; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site | Catalog terms: 2 weeks; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site | Catalog terms: 3 weeks; 2027: Unconfirmed — check official site |
|---|
| Format | In person | In person | In person |
|---|
| Housing and supervision | Residential. Supervision and housing details: Unconfirmed — check official site | Non-residential. Supervision and housing details: Unconfirmed — check official site | Non-residential. Supervision and housing details: Unconfirmed — check official site |
|---|
| Location | Davis, California, Irvine, California, Los Angeles, California, Merced, California, San Diego, California, Santa Cruz, California, UC Davis, UC Irvine, UCLA, UC Merced, UC San Diego, UC Santa Cruz | Providence, Rhode Island, The Steel Yard industrial-arts campus | Lawrenceville, New Jersey |
|---|
| Selection and application | Selection: Each of six campuses accommodates roughly 160-200 students, and clusters typically enroll 20-25 with a commonly reported 5:1 student-to-faculty ratio. Admissions are competitive and based on academic merit relative to the selected topic, but applicant count and statewide acceptance rate were not published. Application materials: One personal statement; One required teacher recommendation, with two recommended | Selection: The course has limited shop capacity and the 2026 listing sold out. The application asks about motivation and making experience, but no acceptance rate or formal scoring rubric is published. Application materials: Short personal statements about motivation, desired outcomes, and a recent making challenge | Selection: Registration is rolling and capacity-limited. The program may use a waitlist and class-specific waitlists, but it does not publish seats, applicant volume, acceptance rates, or course capacity. |
|---|
| Official sources | Source 1 · checked 2026-08-22Source 2 · checked 2026-08-22Source 3 · checked 2026-08-22Source 4 · checked 2026-08-22Source 5 · checked 2026-08-22Source 6 · checked 2026-08-22Source 7 · checked 2026-08-20 | Source 1 · checked 2026-08-21Source 2 · checked 2026-08-21Source 3 · checked 2026-08-21 | Source 1 · checked 2026-08-21Source 2 · checked 2026-08-21Source 3 · checked 2026-08-21Source 4 · checked 2026-08-21 |
|---|